1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Does Civ IV use StarForce for copy protection?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Karnak, Oct 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Karnak

    Karnak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    This is an important question for many of us. Please keep the thread tightly focused on this one subject about StarForce.

    If Civ IV uses StarForce many of us here will cancel our preorders and forget the game exists (or try too :( ). If anybody has any information on this, please let us know.


    Once again, please keep the subject strictly limited to StarForce copy protection and if Civ IV uses it.

    Thank you.
     
  2. PekkaM

    PekkaM Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Please, no discussion about piracy or politics here. This is something I really need to know before the game comes out (I have order placed in play.com), so moderators and others who might have clue, please inform us in advance if possible.
     
  3. JakeCourtney

    JakeCourtney Villain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Liberty, IL
    Yeah, this will probably get closed down though. Scared of piracy. They might just use it because StarForce does a good job.
     
  4. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    It won't get closed if the discussion is to answer the question. ;)
     
  5. PekkaM

    PekkaM Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    And you can lock this too since Karnak beat me by a minute.

    Moderator Action: Threads merged. ;) --Padma
     
  6. JakeCourtney

    JakeCourtney Villain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Liberty, IL
    What if in a few months the StarForce could be disabled?
     
  7. darkdude

    darkdude Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    About a week ago I sent an email to Take2 with exactly that question. I didn't receive an answer yet; this appears to be normal with their support because other people noticed the same behavior.
    So I did some research and Take2 seems NOT to protect games they release with Starforce, but rather with something called Securdom. I don't know exactly in how far this is intrusive on a system; but apart from being a nuisance to need the disk to start up (probably), I think it'll at least not destabilize the operating system as Starforce seems to do.
     
  8. JakeCourtney

    JakeCourtney Villain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Liberty, IL
    SecureROM is not bad at all.
     
  9. covenant

    covenant Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    They better not. I want to support fraxis, but if that is how they support their paying customers, they just lost one.
     
  10. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    What IS Starforce and why is it bad?
     
  11. JakeCourtney

    JakeCourtney Villain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Liberty, IL
    Google it and you will see what it is bad.
     
  12. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,408
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    Just FYI, everyone, Firaxis does not determine the CD protection method. The publisher (Take2, in this case) does that. ;)
     
  13. dannyevilcat

    dannyevilcat DESTROYER OF FURNITURE

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,714
    Location:
    Burnaby B.C.
    Take 2 still uses SecuRom AFAIK, although so does/did Atari, and I hear they've started using StarForce.

    SecuRom has irritated me with previous games (loading CIII: PTW, especially), but I'll take it any day over SF.
     
  14. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    I did. I found a page stating that Starforce wasn't all that bad, and that people who didn't like it were just in the grip of some internet hysteria (like the one about the bill before Congress to tax e-mail.)
     
  15. Varelse

    Varelse Rabble Rouser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    377
  16. darkdude

    darkdude Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, I stand corrected :)
    I don't own any recent Take2 published game, so maybe who recently bought a Take2 game could give us some updated info. The games protected with SecureROM were I think from 2004 so they might have changed their protection scheme in the mean time. I sure don't hope so.

    Edit: Good link Varelse; it's encouraging to see Take2 is not listed there as a publisher for a game with Starforce protection.
     
  17. Lord Shadow

    Lord Shadow General

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Here's some info:

    I'm also worried, since I've heard it also cripples your IDE drives and disc burning software.

    SecuROM is a LOT better. I hope Civ IV uses it; anything but SF...
     
  18. Rhymes

    Rhymes Drive 4 25 is back

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,077
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec Nuts: 2
    So, if I get this right,... Starforce is bad because it installs unwanted drivers to your computer and might make it more vulnerable to viruses and trojans? right?

    But why would it prevent some people from even playing the game?
     
  19. JakeCourtney

    JakeCourtney Villain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Liberty, IL
    What do you mean?
     
  20. Karnak

    Karnak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    StarForce overwrites much of the security features of WindowsXP SP2 adding a back door for access to systems with it installed. Further, it installs hidden drivers without informing the user that it is doing so and when the game is uninstalled those hidden drivers (the ones that add the back door in fact) are left behind. Because the user was never informed of them they have no way of even suspecting they might remain. These drivers have also been linked to system instability and BSOD events on some systems. It has also been know to disable some legitimate third party optical recording software.

    Essentially it is a destructively heavy handed method of copy protection.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page