Doin' it 'rong. But wide Hiawatha WILL be nuked!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nevyn

Warlord
I have a pretty good game going. One of my best. But I think I did a huge fruit-up that I am still paying for.

This is now:

1919, turn 339:
Sci: +855
Gold: + 239
Happyness: +77
Culture: +396

My mistake was done a hundred years back. I am Ghandi and started as a very tall empire and have all the wonders and all that going for me. But the problem with small borders is that neither coal, oil nor aluminium was available to me.

Now perhaps a Jedi Gandhi with four homegrown tall cities might have solved such a problem by trade or buying/bribing city-states, but I play Darth Gandhi and so I attacked and conquered three city-states. That was not so appreciated by others. All other civs dropped me to Guarded except for four of them, they declared war on me without blinking. My neighbors are so cute when they do that. One of them was the Arabs that was down to two cities. The capital is looking neat and the other one I can raze. I did so.

Now I am not the most popular guy on the planet, and Hiawatha is very frank with his opinion about me. At the time he was coming at me with Long-swordsmen and Crossbowmen, which my Artillery and Infantry took out easily.

From what I could tell Hiawatha had like 10 cities and I had 8. This is when I decided to nuke him. Just for the heck of it. What would Darth Gandhi do?

So in research I aimed towards atom theory, discovered plenty of uranium, went for Manhattan Project and started researching nuclear fission when Hiawatha is coming knocking on my door. I've seen Hiawatha declaring war here and there and in constant war, but I wasn't really paying too much attention as I thought he was feeble.