Early to Mid Domination

SilmNR

Chieftain
I'm new to civ 5 and this forum, So i still havent got my way around everything. The few games I played (all on prince) and indicated in the forums that early to mid domination (warmongering) seems to be the most straight forward winning strategy.

Germany and China are the obvious civs for this strategy. Though I find Germany excel's more on smaller maps with less civs and somewhat luck based (50% conversion) and their advantage dies out once game progress pass a certain stage. China on the other hand is not as fast as German's but have a much more solid mid game. What is a good build order for china and germany and what other civ would you say have good early to mid game domination but perhaps with more versatility ?

Also what social tree besides honor would be helpful at mid game domination game?

any input would be appreciated

The Greeks are early rush monsters. Get the tech for your luxuries first, resell to AIs, buy allies, grow, beeline to Horses, spam Companion Cavalry, kill nearest neighbor, repeat until you are out of neighbors or the AI techs to the point where the CCs are a liability. Leave Bismarck alone. Nobody else really makes Pikes.

Whatever strategy you plan to try, if you want to build a lot of units then you need to go horizontal (build Settlers) early and settle them on sites with lots of Hammers. Look for Hills, especially on rivers or near Food bonus tiles. Of course, with any civ be on the lookout for city sites that are loaded down in luxuries. I just spun up a Russia game where there are five furs within seven tiles of my spawn. Strong trade bait.

Some people have had more early success with the Songkai and Rome than I have. You'd want to ask them what they're doing.