FA: War or Trade then War?

Rome will trade; do we want to trade and upgrade our troops or just attack them?

• Total voters

Alphawolf

Basileus, Founding Father
This is my first time posting a poll in this Demogame so I am sorry if I have some how screwed it up.

Rome will trade Saltpeter with us, so do we want to trade and upgrade our troops or just attack them?
Please see second post for trading synopsis.

The options are:
War, no Trade,
Trade (Break Deal) then War,
Trade (Wait 20 turns) then War,
Other,
No War,
Abstain.

-the Wolf

Moderator Action: Changes Made.

Thank you Furiey for your very detailed synopsis. :goodjob:

Furiey said:
These are the deals that are available for Saltpetre:

Which deal we take depends on whether we intend to allow it to run for 20 turns or stop it early. If we are to stop it early we either need a deal where we pay up front so we do not lose our reputation if we stop it, make the Romans declare on us (a gamble they may not do this), or accept that our reputation is dead (something we'd probably prefer to avoid).

Deals that we pay up front so we don't ruin our reputation if we stop early:

Option 1: We give: 873 gold. Rome gives: Saltpetre.

We give: Physics. Rome gives: Saltpetre, 78gpt (all they have), Incense. But if we sell Physics we need to look at other deals available and if we are stopping the deal early do them first so that we don't lose so much gpt when the deal is stopped. Persia for example has lots of gpt on offer, so we should sell it around first eg:

Option 2:
We give Physics, Persia gives 139gpt + 197 gold
We give Physics, France gives 19gpt + 45 gold (this is all the gpt they have so we should still get it all, but we should check the Roman deal before doing this as we do not want to pay Rome gpt)
We give Physics, Rome gives Saltpetre and as much gpt as they will give

Deals that we pay per turn so we either have to let run 20 turns, break and ruin our reputation, or have to get Rome to declare on us: