1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Research Doesn't Overflow

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by KCMcG, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    I've seen this multiple times now where I only need 5 more beakers to research a tech. Next turn I pick a new tech to research and one turn after that, the only progress towards researching the new tech is my beakers per turn. This is ridiculous because we no longer have a way to choose how much research we produce per turn. Why should my civilization be wasted 50 beakers doing nothing?
     
  2. _hero_

    _hero_ King

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    795
    Yeah I've noticed this too. Beakers don't overflow and they also aren't converted to gold. I've yet to see them have any positive effect at all. Not really a bug, but it annoys the crap out of me having so much research go to waste.
     
  3. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    I'm not sure about production. I read somewhere that it overflows, just that it doesn't show it in the display. I haven't noticed that overflowing either.
     
  4. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    I kind of feel like the developers took certain things out that were unbalancing/exploitable and then forgot to add them back in when the changed the system so that the system was no longer unbalancing/exploitable.

    Example:
    Production overflows were unbalanced because you could whip population and use the overflow to rush a project. I think they may have taken production overflow out to help balance the game. However, now that the whip is no longer an option, production overflow would be more balanced.

    They also took out the ability to rush with gold, you can only buy units/buildings in their entirety. I don't see why production shouldn't overflow.
     
  5. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    I'm pretty sure they DO overflow, although your city governors may adjust specialists to match the amount needed and you shoudl note that when you chose a new tech, they are not added immediately (wait until next turn). Can you post a save?

    Edit - OK - tested it myself, and it looks like its not. :hmm:

    Mining with one turn to go, should have over-run of 4 beakers.


    Complete and select The Wheel. Not added immediately.


    Next turn, and progress towards "The Wheel" is only 7, my science output.


    Save from the turn before mining completes attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for confirming. I should have attached screenshots myself. It was 5 beakers left on Metal Casting I think with 55 beakers per turn. Two turns later, only 55 beakers on Steel.
     
  7. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    Hello micromanagement. :/
     
  8. DaviddesJ

    DaviddesJ Deity

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,379
    Location:
    Burlingame CA
    What kind of micromanagement are you thinking of? I don't see much that one is going to be able to do that is worth doing.
     
  9. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    There's not much you can do, but you can pull scientist specialists out of libraries and stop working Academies for that last turn to try to get the science exact.
     
  10. Teodosio

    Teodosio Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    292
    Another annoying bug :(
     
  11. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,624
    Location:
    Canada
    Usually you don't have enough specialists and academies to get this exact, so every tech you start researching, you have to calculate how much overflow you'll be wasting, taking into account city growth in every city, and adjust research each turn to hit the correct number.
     
  12. KCMcG

    KCMcG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    I've been micromanaging. There's nothing more aggravating than ending turn with 1 turn to completion, only to find out a puppet-state changed it's specialists and you now need 3 beakers for the next tech while the remaining 200 beakers get wasted.
     

Share This Page