1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Gigantic Accurate Earth Map (232 x 112)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Pre-made Maps' started by Laskaris, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Folket

    Folket Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,828
    Location:
    Sweden
    I like the look of Lambert cylindrical equal-area projection.

    Good work on the map even if it is way to large for me to play on it.
     
  2. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    The Lambert equal-area projection is a nice one, yes. Personally, from an aesthetic point of view, I prefer the Hobo-Dyer equal-area projection which I used here. To me, the height / width aspect ratio of the Hobo-Dyer projection of about 2.0 looks better than the 3.14... aspect ratio of the Lambert projection. But that really is a question of personal taste.

    I plan to release a Eurasia cutout of the map eventually, which will make at least a large part of it playable for people who can't play the full map because their PC can't handle it.
     
  3. RodneyG668

    RodneyG668 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    does this map start each civ. in its proper location?
     
  4. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Yes, civilizations start in their historically accurate starting locations. The only exceptions to this are some "filler" civilizations in the map versions for basic Civilization and Warlords, where I placed the English in South Africa, for instance.

    The 18 civilization version for Beyond the Sword has the following civilizations, all in their accurate starting locations: Arabian, Aztec, Babylonian, Carthaginian, Celtic, Chinese, Egyptian, Ethiopian, Greek, Incan, Indian, Japanese, Khmer, Malinese, Mayan, Mongolian, Native American, and Zulu. The 12 civilization version for Beyond the Sword has: Arabian, Babylonian, Carthaginian, Celtic, Chinese, Egyptian, Greek, Indian, Japanese, Khmer, Mongolian, and Ottoman (the Ottomans start out in Central Asia, which actually makes sense for a Turkic civilization).
     
  5. MotezumaMan

    MotezumaMan Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    The Moon
    I love it! The only thing that kind of disappointed me was the lack of the Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte) islands and Vancouver Island, these are major islands in Canada; Victoria, located on Vancouver Island is the capital of British Columbia.
     
  6. Ignus

    Ignus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Mars
    Great work, I wonder how it would look like post-apocalyptified :D
    (nuclear winter with all the ruins of the civilizations included)
     
  7. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Haida Gwaii is on the map, it's the island at x=30, y=99. Vancouver Island is there as well, but very abstracted: the peninsula at x=34, y=97. Because Vancouver Island is so close to the mainland, and because I wanted to get the Strait of Georgia and the Juan De Fuca Strait to the east and north-east in, that's how it turned out at this map resolution. It's a mountain tile, which depicts the ultra-prominent peak of Golden Hinde. I might have taken a hill to make it settleable, but as a rule, I modelled ultra-prominent peaks as mountains on this map.

    Anyway, I'm glad you like the map despite its flaws. Thank you for your comment.
     
  8. volandemord

    volandemord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    an excellent map was done I only Africa changed the deserts did less than
     
  9. volandemord

    volandemord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Laskaris and you could not impose this map on fashions with new resources fashion RedForce.SB 1.4.6 thanks in advance
     
  10. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Regrettably, I have no idea what you are trying to say there. I guess English is not your native language (it isn't mine, either). If you word your comments in a way that makes sense, I will be glad to answer any questions you might have.
     
  11. Sync

    Sync Warlord

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Warrington, England
    Excellent earth map, the best one I've seen.

    If you don't mind me saying though, I think the United Kingdom is actually smaller than what is displayed on your map.

    Great work though.
     
  12. Pieterlen

    Pieterlen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanx for the map, I like it.

    The only thing I would wish for would be a Revolution Mod with more than 18 Civilizations and some Customization like on the GiantEarthMap (for example, ships having +1 movement points.) Anyway, I can do it for myself once I have some time.
     
  13. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Thank you for your comments. I'm glad that you like the map.

    The island of Great Britain is about 20% larger than it should be while the island of Ireland is some 10% smaller. As is necessary when you translate a map with a square overlay into a game map where a square is either 100% land or 100% water, small inaccuracies are introduced, especially when you try to make the shape of an island like Great Britain recognizable. Still, the overall error in area for the British Isles is small, only 12%.* You must have pretty good eyes to spot that!

    (*The map is 232 x 112 tiles, with Antarctica cut off. A full world map in this resolution, including Antarctica, would have 232 x 118 = 27376 tiles. The Earth's surface is 510,072,000 km2. So, one tile of the map represents approximately 18,632 km2 (510,072,000 km2 divided by 27376 tiles). The islands of Great Britain and Ireland together have an area of about 314,269 km2 (229,848 km2 for Great Britain and 84,421 km2 for Ireland). 314,269 km2 divided by 18,632 km2 is 16.87, which means that the islands should occupy about 16.87 tiles in the map. They occupy 19 tiles (15 for Great Britain and 4 for Ireland), which means that, yes, they are together some 12% larger than they should be.)

    You are free to modify the map and re-publish it. If you do, please give me credit for the original.
     
  14. kristopherb

    kristopherb Protective/Charismatic

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    British Empire Soul:Tesco
    Great map, I can quickly open this map in a short amount of time (60s ish). I've yet to properly start a game with it yet but I assume most of the lag will come later. Either my new laptop is good or the lag will come later in the game.

    still good map
     
  15. Anonimasu

    Anonimasu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Wonderful. I'm wondering, how can I get 30 civs to play at once on this map?
    The extra civs components only seem to work for random maps.
     
  16. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    I'm afraid I don't know the answer to that. I am a mapmaker and my expertise with other areas of modding is limited.

    Your best bet probably is to ask the creators of the extra civs components how their work can be used with specific maps (instead of random ones), and maybe they can help you.
     
  17. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    What is the Extra civ comp?
     
  18. troglodyt

    troglodyt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    It's nice to see a discussion about map projection on this forum and for the purposes of Civ IV an area preserving map seems to be the "correct" choice as one of the most fundamental rule of the game is that "land is power".

    I have to point out though that the degree of forestation you chose is most likely not accurate if the goal was to give a picture of earth without human influence. I think there is a consensus among historians that nearly all land bordering the Mediterranean was covered by forests in prehistorical times. With the advent of iron working these forrests were used to power smelting operations throughout Europe, Northern Africa and the Levante. Additionally there was an ever increasing demand for wood in the ship building industry and for general purposes of an exploding population such as clearing land for farming. There have been suggestions that extensive deforestation influenced, if not caused, the decline of the Roman Empire. This is admittedly shaky though.
     
  19. Laskaris

    Laskaris Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Yes, the biome distribution of the map is based on climate maps of the present day rather than the prehistoric / ancient era. Moreover, one of the weaknesses of Civilization, in regards to creating accurate maps, is that the game does not distinguish between different types of forests. Because I don't really like representing Mediterranean forests / shrub with the standard warm forest feature that is already used for everything ranging from temperate mixed forests to monsoon forests, I opted for representing the Mediterranean climate as simple, forest-less plains.

    You have a point, though - I could have added more forests around the Mediterranean. In future map projects, I will do that.
     
  20. RyanTheGreat

    RyanTheGreat Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Laskaris, would you consider making a map that is in between the sizes of your 2 maps? I love your maps and think that from a gameplay perspective a size smaller that your gigantic map but larger than your standard map would be perfect. Cheers
     

Share This Page