happy to find this forum

dizzygreen

Chieftain
Well, I picked up Civ4 and BTS two weeks ago, and have been getting my butt handed to me for two weeks by the Warlord AI. It mostly seems like I'm beating myself though. I'm a Starcraft veteran and I'm playing the game starcraft-style, trying to expand and attack super aggressively.

I can tell this is going to be a long learning curve, but I'm up to it. This forum has taught me that all my old ways were wrong LOL.

Welcome. I have no idea about those other games, but for CIV and BTS there are alot of great articles and walkthroughs to get you started.

Thanks. I've been reading Sisituil's beginner's guide, which is quite helpful.

One of the best. Follow his ALC games, they are very informative and fun.

Aggressive rapid expansion can actually work in this game, but is by no means the sure route to success. For just starting out, you may want to focus on seeing how far you can expand before your economy starts to crash. At least for me, that was the big learning curve in this game. Best of luck!

The best newcomer rule for expansion is the "60%" rule. Once the science slider has been reduced to 60% to cover maintenance for the new cities, stop expanding, and consolidate your position financially.

Cottages are the best way to earn "commerce", but they take time to mature. Once they have matured somewhat, you can continue expanding, either by settler or by force, but its unwise to let your science slider dip below 50%, or you will find yourself in an economic crash.