1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Has the difficulty level been increased in a recent patch?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Horizons, Oct 5, 2013.

  1. bonafide11

    bonafide11 Worker

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,173
    Location:
    STL
    I haven't played the game post-patch a lot yet, but from the Emperor game I've played, I haven't noticed any increase in difficulty.
     
  2. Quineloe

    Quineloe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    458
    I've seen a tower spam attack by Assyria before on king, way before the beta. Did you have no army at all and he just knew you'd be a pushover? In my case I had 6 military units and was able to actually hold it off because the city he went for only had two tiles where you could attack without river penalty, and I held one of it throughout the fight.

    Problem with Prince is that the game is mind numbingly boring in the second half because you outclass every opponent by a large margin.

    It would be nice if there were a difficulty setting that gets progressively harder throughout the game, instead most of the difficulty is frontloaded in the first 75 turns.
     
  3. neilkaz

    neilkaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    975
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    Have the AI's gotten happiness bonuses with the patch? I noted that they seemed to have tremendous happiness again, like in BNW. This sucks since now they are much less likely to have issues due to ideoligical pressure.

    .. neilkaz ..
     
  4. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,645
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Have wondered this myself in my beta-games. The AI controlled the ideology pressure fine in my games or at least not bad.

    Question: The unhappiness from ideology-pressure, are those suppose to be deducted from your total or is it just a number. I tried to find it in the total, but didn't find my unhappiness (from ideology) deducted. But can be have seen wrong.
     
  5. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,494
    In all recent beta-patched games, AIs who open Honor tend to try and send an attack force by early Classical just like in "good" old G&K days :p (Immortal/Deity) They also tend to send better mix of units for what i've seen (number of archers/CBs along some melee and possibly horsemen, fewer cats then before, they couldn't use them anyway) They are not much better at using them (melee still attacking non damaged cities and being killed before they can actually take it), but if you are not prepared, you're going for a nasty surprise. Also, i tried to bribe Dido when i saw her coming for me with an obvious attack force, but she refused attacking anybody else. Maybe they finally fixed the AIs war decision so that it no longer accepts to DoW just about anyone even after they choose a target.

    It's fine for me, the ultra passive AI of early BNW was as bad as the psychopatic AI of G&K and at least here, peaceful civs tend to be peaceful. However, i guess we'll see lots of "wtf, the game haz becom impossable!" threads after the patch is released :lol:
     
  6. Dogmouth

    Dogmouth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    This has been my experience as well, and like you I also found the early passive AI dull. I wonder whether we're going to see a lot of early warmongers collapse now, because their appetite for early war appears to be greater than the value of early war. By contrast, in G&K, early conquest was really profitable, so the warmongers who actually went to war tended to do pretty well.
     
  7. Horizons

    Horizons Needing fed again!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    The game gets changed so often (in patches, not just expansions) - your entire strategy changes after each and every patch because so many changes have been made to the mechanics. I guess I just can't keep up with it any more.
     
  8. greygamer

    greygamer Feudal Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    Location:
    UK
    That does indeed seem to be the way the difficulty levels work, it just becomes a question of if/when you catch up or pass them with each successive difficulty level causing that to occur later on in the game.

    Personally I find King to be my comfort/fun level, I can just about hold my own at Emperor before falling behind in the later eras. Knowing who your neighbours are should dictate the early game ...never tell Atilla where your capital is!

    I don't have serious gold issues early on, sell some luxuries to tide yourself over until your cities can establish good trade routes. Caravansaries or coastal cities really help with this, but you do need to keep at least 1 neighbour at least neutral towards you or you will find gold an issue.

    I'm not sure what they can do to stop the game from ultimately being a science race with some random elements thrown in.
     
  9. Yucatan

    Yucatan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    France
    At immortal level, Stonehenge and Pyramids are spammed more quickly than pre-beta in my games. Does it happen to you ? Their teching seems also a bit faster.
     
  10. Quineloe

    Quineloe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    458
    Someone just built Great Library on turn 60 on my girlfriends chieftain game.

    I'm like whaaat?
     
  11. NyQuil

    NyQuil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm playing my first game on King but got a ridiculous desert start with about 4 salts and a dye, plus a river, plus Petra, plus desert folklore, so I'm not really getting a sense of it. As Morocco, I've got a whole bunch of kasbahs and trading posts.

    Genghis Khan is next door and I've had to pay him off to keep taking city states. Sweden started next to him which is about as bad as it gets for that civ - Stockholm was gone in the Medieval ages.

    I did help him take out Siam if only to use the city as a buffer between me and him.
     
  12. joshua43214

    joshua43214 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    985
    Just finished a patched Immortal OCC with Babylon. The Ai is definitely teching faster. The AI is still doing weird things though. Had Greece as my next door neighbor, he took honor and expected forward settled right up to me, never DoW'd and took Freedom with 16 cities. Morocco forward settled my opposite border, went tradition and piety then took Autocracy with 4 cities and stayed peaceful the entire game.

    Win times are definitely longer, mine was 312 in a game where I got the Petra with Babs, this normally would have been a 290ish win. I actually had to buy the last three spaceship parts because of build times.
     
  13. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    The beta patch has not change the handicap xml file at all.
    It's still on the Brave New World initial release version.

    As to what has happened: The Beta has increased the threshold for the AI to found a city. Given that junk cities is the #1 reason for happiness issues, the AI now having more happiness means that the improved AI city placement code is working. (But they haven't yet gotten around to decreasing the AI happiness bonuses to compensate.)

    Similarly, the AI should build more Libraries, Universities, etc. than before since their science flavors have increased, but it hasn't had it's science handicap bonus decreased.
     
  14. Gort

    Gort Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,518
    I dunno, we're still seeing stuff like the AI building cities on 1-tile islands with a single fish resource. There's work to be done on "junk cities".
     
  15. Scott Jegg

    Scott Jegg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    267
    Those ones aren't entirely junk. I seen a picture of one today that was size 14. As long as they can grow and have science buildings bought in them, they can generate a reasonable amount beakers.
     
  16. Aaron90495

    Aaron90495 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    'Murica
    I'm just jealous your girlfriend plays Civ. :goodjob: Couldn't get mine to touch any video game if her life depended on it.

    Back on topic, yes, the game seems to have gotten noticeably harder. In my two Deity games (not a huge sample size, I know, but it's all I have to go by), all the AI's expanded quicker - and to better spots - than they did pre-patch. They also seem to be teching faster, having better unit balance, and founding religions faster. I haven't played enough to make a firm judgment, but it seems like every level has been effectively increased by 1/3 to 1/2 - i.e. post-patch Immortal is right between pre-patch Immortal and Deity.
     
  17. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    I didn't mean that the mission was completely accomplished; but really meant it's a big step forward that the very worst of the junk city sites aren't being founded.

    I am though thinking that at current AI handicap level, the above site is merely marginal since it can grow, particularly at the handicap levels commonly seen in this forum by experts.
     
  18. Horizons

    Horizons Needing fed again!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    lol I will need to go back to Prince, if I play Civ5 again that is. It is clearly being 'optimized' for the hardcore players at this stage, and will likely become less and less 'fun'.
     
  19. JanghanHong

    JanghanHong Enrico Trololo

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Kingston, Canada
    I expected a little jump in difficulty in emperor difficulty.

    Everybody does science better now, which is good since I'm always the science lead by too much.
     
  20. Dogmouth

    Dogmouth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    613
    I still don't understand why non-"hardcore" players want to play above Prince. Prince is the default difficulty. It's designed for casual players. Maybe your problem is that Prince is too easy rather than King+ being too hard?
     

Share This Page