1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How do I speed-up AI processing between turns?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Lenox, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi. First-time poster.

    I'm not talking about combat animations and whatnot. I'm talking about the loading of AI civs, city-states, and barbarians. It seems to take 2-3 minutes between turns after my game is a few hundred turns in. I am even currently playing on a Small map with 5 AI civs and 12 city-states and it still has considerable loading times between turns.

    Is turning on quick combat and movement the only solution? Even though I'm not visibly seeing those things take long. I actually LIKE seeing the AI battles between turns. But sometimes there is just a NEXT TURN because nothing significant happens either for me or the AI, and I still have to wait a significant amount of time between turns.
     
  2. beetle

    beetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,615
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Welcome to the forums!

    Turning on Quick Combat should shorten the processing time between turns. Quick Movement has no effect on turn processing. My computer is pretty old, and it is usually less than a minute between turns late game. Do you know your system specs?
     
  3. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Windows 10 Home Version 1803 OS Build 17134.48
    Intel Core i7-5820K CPU @ 3.30 GHz 3.30 GHz
    16.0 GB RAM
    GeForce GTX 1080 Driver 388.13 10/29/2017
    1920 x 1200, 59Hz monitor
     
  4. beetle

    beetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,615
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
  5. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
  6. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,451
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    Have you tried dual booting win7 and seeing if the problem persists on the same save file?
     
    Lenox likes this.
  7. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm not sure what dual-booting is but this has happened across all save files and two different computers. For example, I'm on turn 550+ of my 8 Civ / 16-city-state game and the load time between turns is closer to a minute. When I started the game it was seconds. Does that help answer your question?
     
  8. MariusMagnus

    MariusMagnus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Keep in mind that with a game like Civ, the turn processing is naturally going to get slower as you progress. There simply isn't much that can be done about that. What difficulty are you on? Higher difficulties means the AI will most definitely have more units, which can also slow the game down. Just something to keep in mind.
     
  9. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Did not know that. Emperor difficulty. Is Civ 6 better about that?
     
  10. MariusMagnus

    MariusMagnus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    I wouldn't personally know. Wasn't very enticed by 6 and still find Civ V fun, so I never picked it up.

    I would say a minute by turn 550 isn't too bad, but that might just be me. I usually play on huge maps with 22 civs so it can take up to 4-5 minutes for me by then.
     
    Lenox likes this.
  11. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    4-5 minute turns is horrendous. You answered my question. Lol. I guess I need to find something to do in between turns.
     
  12. beetle

    beetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,615
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Well @Lenox, which situation is closer to what you are asking about?
    2-3 minutes between turns on turn 350 on a Small map with 5 AI civs is NOT the usual experience.
    4-5 minutes between turns on turn 550 on a Huge map with 22 AI civs IS a common experience, and the main reason most people do not play huge maps.
     
    Lenox likes this.
  13. Lenox

    Lenox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    I didn't know map size was the primary contributor to turn timer. I thought it was number of city-states. I'll play on a small map next time (I usually do Standard) and see if my experience is different.
     
  14. beetle

    beetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,615
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    The primary contributor to time between turns is the number of AI units being manipulated. More civs means more units. Larger maps means more space for units. Later in the game means there has been much more time for the AIs to build units. If single player combat is turned on, and the player has line of sight on many units, the UI needs to display all that, so the between turn wait can easily triple. But I am playing on an older computer and late game (t300+) the between turn wait is less than a minute for Standard size maps.
     
    Lenox likes this.

Share This Page