How on earth do I edit the .GIF files?

Sarah Edmunds

Chieftain
I have the freeware version of Civilization II MGE with the x64 patch. It's worked alright so far, and I've been playing it for several months.

Recently, I wanted to get into the modding scene so I wanted to do something simple: Go into CITIES.GIF and change the regular "Modern" textures to "Modern Alt." Pretty easy, right? Wrong.

I've tried just copying what's in the squares and replacing it in Modern Field, copying the squares whole (including the borders) and replacing the Modern side, and so and on.

I'm using the paint.NET editor to edit the images because MS Paint would screw it up when I saved it.

Here is an image of what happens when I load the game: https://imgur.com/a/lF9qq

I have the freeware version of Civilization II MGE with the x64 patch. It's worked alright so far, and I've been playing it for several months.

Recently, I wanted to get into the modding scene so I wanted to do something simple: Go into CITIES.GIF and change the regular "Modern" textures to "Modern Alt." Pretty easy, right? Wrong.

I've tried just copying what's in the squares and replacing it in Modern Field, copying the squares whole (including the borders) and replacing the Modern side, and so and on.

I'm using the paint.NET editor to edit the images because MS Paint would screw it up when I saved it.

Here is an image of what happens when I load the game: https://imgur.com/a/lF9qq
Just convert the .gif files to bitmaps. You don't need to turn them back, as the game will read data from .bmp files as readily as it will from .gif files.

If you use Jasc Paint Shop Pro, you'll need to save the palette when you first load a file (Image > Palette > Save) and then load it when you save it again (Image > Palette > Load)

Just convert the .gif files to bitmaps. You don't need to turn them back, as the game will read data from .bmp files as readily as it will from .gif files.