1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

HOW TO: Add custom Sounds

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by purplexus, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Here's a New Topic not many have touched on.

    How To: Add Diplomacy Music
    How To: Add Unit Selection/Order Wav files

    WHAT YOU NEED

    You will need the Following XML FILES (back these up if you are modifying them from somewhere in which if you screw it up you will regret the game not working anymore)
    NOTE: COPY THESE FILES TO YOUR MOD IF NOT ALREADY THERE OTHERWISE EDIT YOUR MODS EXISTING FILES (put in same file folder of your mod too else the game won't find them. If the folder doesn't exist create it!)

    KNOWLEDGE THAT WHEN I HAVE BRACKETS LIKE THIS { } IT MEANS YOU PUT WHAT FITS YOUR NEEDS IN IT! A CHOICE!

    civ4civilizationinfos.xml (assets\xml\civilizations)
    Civ4leaderheadinfos.xml (assets\xml\civilizations)
    Audiodefines.xml (assets\xml\sounds)
    Audio3DScripts.xml (assets\xml\sounds)
    Audio2dScripts.xml (assets\xml\sounds)
    Microphone
    Wave Editor (Wavepad 1.2 is Shareware found at www.download.com) INSTALL ALL PARTS OF THIS!
    Mp3's you would like to have for your diplomacy music

    What you can Modify....
    You can modify 10 different things your units say when you select them
    You can modify 10 Different things your units say when you give them an order
    You can modify the music your civilization will have playing in the background for 14 different occassions. (diplomacy music)
    These occasions are....
    Peace during Ancient times
    War During Ancient Times
    and for Classical, Medieval, Renaissance, Industrial, Modern, and Future Times each can have there own peace and war musics.

    SPECIAL NOTE!
    All 14 Musics have an Intro and a Loop
    the intro is only played once. The Loop is the part that is repeated over and over and over again until you close the diplomacy screen or you zoom away from the civ's city.

    STEP 1 (Creating the Diplomacy Music)

    a)Choose your Mp3 you want edit (find something to represent your civilization)
    b)Wavepad 1.2 will open most compressed formats inclusing mp3 and convert them into wave files
    c)find the part of the music you wish to have playing as the intro
    d) cut and paste this onto a new file
    e) save this as an MP3 and rename it this way {your civ name}_{war/peace}_{ERA}_INTRO
    f)find the part of the music you wish to have repeat over and over
    g)cut that part and paste it on a new file
    h) select the loop playback (in the "control" drop down window of wavepad)
    i) here's the hard part make in flawless. When you loop it does it sound flawless? or could it use a little tweaking? One trick is to use the spikes in the wave to find the beat and chop files at that point.)
    j) okay you got it flawless now save it as a Mp3 again (rename it to
    {your civ}_{war/peace}_{ERA}

    STEP 2 (Programming the Diplomacy Music)
    IF YOU DONT COPY/PASTE NOW....YOU WILL SOON LEARN
    a) place all your MP3's in a folder and call it {your civ's} soundpack (file management important when dealing with alot of civ's for those adding this soundpack to a multi-civ mod)
    b) place this folder in your MOD\ASSETS\SOUNDS\DIPLOMACY folder
    c) open your mod's Audiodefines.xml
    NOTE THIS NEXT PART MUST GO WITHIN THE SOUNDDATA PORTION OF THE XML FILE!
    d) Add
    <SoundData>
    <SoundID>DIPLO_{Your Leader}_{war/peace}_{era}_{intro?}</SoundID>
    <Filename>Sounds/Diplomacy/{your civ's Soundpack/{your civ}_{war/peace}_{era}</Filename>
    <LoadType>STREAMED</LoadType>
    <bIsCompressed>1</bIsCompressed>
    <bInGeneric>1</bInGeneric>
    </SoundData>
    SAMPLES (here I use Pearson of the Canadians)
    <SoundData>
    <SoundID>DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_ANCIENT_INTRO</SoundID>
    <Filename>Sounds/Diplomacy/Canada's Soundpack/CANADA_WAR_ANCIENT_INTRO</Filename>
    <LoadType>STREAMED</LoadType>
    <bIsCompressed>1</bIsCompressed>
    <bInGeneric>1</bInGeneric>
    </SoundData>
    <SoundData>
    <SoundID>DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_CLASSICAL</SoundID>
    <Filename>Sounds/Diplomacy/Canada's Soundpack/CANADA_PEACE_CLASSICAL</Filename>
    <LoadType>STREAMED</LoadType>
    <bIsCompressed>1</bIsCompressed>
    <bInGeneric>1</bInGeneric>
    </SoundData>
    <SoundData>
    <SoundID>DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_CLASSICAL_INTRO</SoundID>
    <Filename>Sounds/Diplomacy/Canada's Soundpack/CANADA_PEACE_CLASSICAL_INTRO</Filename>
    <LoadType>STREAMED</LoadType>
    <bIsCompressed>1</bIsCompressed>
    <bInGeneric>1</bInGeneric>
    </SoundData>

    e) Do this for each Leader for each and every war music and for each peace music (ie you may have 28 entries for each leader (7 peace) (7 war) (7 peace intros) (7 war intros) and that's just the first leader you got to do this for each leader)
    f) Open your mod's Audio2DScripts.xml
    g) add
    <Script2DSound>
    <ScriptID>AS2D_DIPLO_{your leader}_{war/peace}_{era}_{Intro?}</ScriptID>
    <SoundID>DIPLO_{your leader}_{war/peace}_{era}_{Intro?}</SoundID>
    <SoundType>GAME_MUSIC</SoundType>
    <iMinVolume>75</iMinVolume>
    <iMaxVolume>75</iMaxVolume>
    <iPitchChangeDown>0</iPitchChangeDown>
    <iPitchChangeUp>0</iPitchChangeUp>
    <iMinLeftPan>-1</iMinLeftPan>
    <iMaxLeftPan>-1</iMaxLeftPan>
    <iMinRightPan>-1</iMinRightPan>
    <iMaxRightPan>-1</iMaxRightPan>
    <bLooping>1</bLooping> Note! This value is 0 for Intro's
    <iMinTimeDelay>0</iMinTimeDelay>
    <iMaxTimeDelay>0</iMaxTimeDelay>
    <bTaperForSoundtracks>0</bTaperForSoundtracks>
    <iLengthOfSound>0</iLengthOfSound>
    <fMinDryLevel>1.0</fMinDryLevel>
    <fMaxDryLevel>1.0</fMaxDryLevel>
    <fMinWetLevel>0.0</fMinWetLevel>
    <fMaxWetLevel>0.0</fMaxWetLevel>
    </Script2DSound>
    h)Do this for each Leader for each and every war music and for each peace music (ie you may have 28 entries for each leader (7 peace) (7 war) (7 peace intros) (7 war intros) and that's just the first leader you got to do this for each leader)
    i) open your CIV4LeaderHeadInfos.xml
    j) Modify your Leader's Diplomacy Music to look like this: (here I use my own example of Canada's leader Pearson)NOTE YOU CAN USE THE SAME MUSIC FOR MORE THEN ONE ERA IF YOU SO CHOOSE TO! The <diploscriptid> calls for the script you previously programmed earlier. If I wanted the same music for both ancient and classical I would just reinsert
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_ANCIENT_INTRO</DiploScriptId> only this time I would put it under the CLASSICAL era
    Modify your Leader's Diplomacy Music to look like this below: (again do this for each Leader!)



    <DiplomacyIntroMusicPeace>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_ANCIENT</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_ANCIENT_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_CLASSICAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_CLASSICAL_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MEDIEVAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_MEDIEVAL_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_RENAISSANCE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_RENAISSANCE_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_INDUSTRIAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_INDUSTRIAL_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MODERN</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_MODERN_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_FUTURE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_FUTURE_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    </DiplomacyIntroMusicPeace>
    <DiplomacyMusicPeace>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_ANCIENT</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_ANCIENT</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_CLASSICAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_CLASSICAL</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MEDIEVAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_MEDIEVAL</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_RENAISSANCE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_RENAISSANCE</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_INDUSTRIAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_INDUSTRIAL</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MODERN</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_MODERN</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    <EraType>ERA_FUTURE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_PEACE_FUTURE</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicPeaceEra>
    </DiplomacyMusicPeace>
    <DiplomacyIntroMusicWar>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_ANCIENT</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_ANCIENT_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_CLASSICAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_CLASSICAL_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MEDIEVAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_MEDIEVAL_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_RENAISSANCE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_RENAISSANCE_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_INDUSTRIAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_INDUSTRIAL_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MODERN</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_MODERN_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_FUTURE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_FUTURE_INTRO</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    </DiplomacyIntroMusicWar>
    <DiplomacyMusicWar>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_ANCIENT</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_ANCIENT</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_CLASSICAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_CLASSICAL</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MEDIEVAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_MEDIEVAL</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_RENAISSANCE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_RENAISSANCE</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_INDUSTRIAL</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_INDUSTRIAL</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_MODERN</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_MODERN</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    <DiploMusicWarEra>
    <EraType>ERA_FUTURE</EraType>
    <DiploScriptId>AS2D_DIPLO_PEARSON_WAR_FUTURE</DiploScriptId>
    </DiploMusicWarEra>
    </DiplomacyMusicWar>
    k) Test the music (run the game create a city then, zoom in on a city and hit {CRTL W} this will bring up the world editor. now add all classical techs and then medieval etc....noticing the music should change for each era)

    UNIT WAV's STILL TO COME!!!!! next post
     
  2. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    STEP 1 (Creation)

    a) Have 10 things ready to record for Order/Selection or both
    b) Open Recording program (I used the one with Wavepad 1.2 (RECORDPAD 1.2))
    c) Record each phrase/word/noise/ or whatever you want.
    d) Save these as wav files and name them {civ}select-000,{civ}select-001....to {civ}select-009
    or {civ}order-000,{civ}order-001...to {civ}order-009
    NOTE No space between your civ's name and the select/order words
    SAMPLE:
    canadaorder-000.wav
    canadaorder-001.wav
    canadaorder-002.wav
    .......
    canadaorder-009.wav
    canadaselect-000.wav
    canadaselect-001.wav
    canadaselect-002.wav
    ........
    canadaselect-009.wav

    e) Put them in a folder called {YOUR CIV}!!! (Again I can't stress File Management enough especially on this one!)
    f) open AudioDefines.xml
    g) add this within the SOUNDDATA Portion of the File
    <SoundData>
    <SoundID>SND_{Your CIV}_ORDER</SoundID>
    <Filename>Sounds/Units/{Your CIV}/{your civ}Order</Filename> (again no space on the filename)
    <LoadType>DYNAMIC_RES</LoadType>
    <bIsCompressed>1</bIsCompressed>
    <bInGeneric>1</bInGeneric>
    </SoundData>
    <SoundData>
    <SoundID>SND_{Your CIV}_SELECT</SoundID>
    <Filename>Sounds/Units/{your civ}/{your civ}Select</Filename> (again no space on the filename)
    <LoadType>DYNAMIC_RES</LoadType>
    <bIsCompressed>1</bIsCompressed>
    <bInGeneric>1</bInGeneric>
    </SoundData>
    h) Open Audio3DScripts.XML
    i) add the following to the file:
    <Script3DSound>
    <ScriptID>AS3D_{Your CIV}_SELECT</ScriptID>
    <SoundID>SND_{Your CIV}_SELECT</SoundID>
    <SoundType>GAME_SPEECH</SoundType>
    <iMinVolume>200</iMinVolume>
    <iMaxVolume>200</iMaxVolume>
    <iPitchChangeDown>0</iPitchChangeDown>
    <iPitchChangeUp>0</iPitchChangeUp>
    <bLooping>0</bLooping>
    <iMinTimeDelay>0</iMinTimeDelay>
    <iMaxTimeDelay>0</iMaxTimeDelay>
    <StartPosition>NONE</StartPosition>
    <EndPosition>NONE</EndPosition>
    <iMinVelocity>0</iMinVelocity>
    <iMaxVelocity>0</iMaxVelocity>
    <iMinDistanceFromListener>0</iMinDistanceFromListener>
    <iMaxDistanceFromListener>0</iMaxDistanceFromListener>
    <iMinDistanceForMaxVolume>500</iMinDistanceForMaxVolume>
    <iMaxDistanceForMaxVolume>1000</iMaxDistanceForMaxVolume>
    <iMinCutoffDistance>7000</iMinCutoffDistance>
    <iMaxCutoffDistance>7000</iMaxCutoffDistance>
    <bTaperForSoundtracks>0</bTaperForSoundtracks>
    <iLengthOfSound>0</iLengthOfSound>
    <fMinDryLevel>1.0</fMinDryLevel>
    <fMaxDryLevel>1.0</fMaxDryLevel>
    <fMinWetLevel>0.5</fMinWetLevel>
    <fMaxWetLevel>0.5</fMaxWetLevel>
    </Script3DSound>
    <Script3DSound>
    <ScriptID>AS3D_{Your CIV}_ORDER</ScriptID>
    <SoundID>SND_{Your CIV}_ORDER</SoundID>
    <SoundType>GAME_SPEECH</SoundType>
    <iMinVolume>200</iMinVolume>
    <iMaxVolume>200</iMaxVolume>
    <iPitchChangeDown>0</iPitchChangeDown>
    <iPitchChangeUp>0</iPitchChangeUp>
    <bLooping>0</bLooping>
    <iMinTimeDelay>0</iMinTimeDelay>
    <iMaxTimeDelay>0</iMaxTimeDelay>
    <StartPosition>NONE</StartPosition>
    <EndPosition>NONE</EndPosition>
    <iMinVelocity>0</iMinVelocity>
    <iMaxVelocity>0</iMaxVelocity>
    <iMinDistanceFromListener>0</iMinDistanceFromListener>
    <iMaxDistanceFromListener>0</iMaxDistanceFromListener>
    <iMinDistanceForMaxVolume>500</iMinDistanceForMaxVolume>
    <iMaxDistanceForMaxVolume>1000</iMaxDistanceForMaxVolume>
    <iMinCutoffDistance>7000</iMinCutoffDistance>
    <iMaxCutoffDistance>7000</iMaxCutoffDistance>
    <bTaperForSoundtracks>0</bTaperForSoundtracks>
    <iLengthOfSound>0</iLengthOfSound>
    <fMinDryLevel>1.0</fMinDryLevel>
    <fMaxDryLevel>1.0</fMaxDryLevel>
    <fMinWetLevel>0.5</fMinWetLevel>
    <fMaxWetLevel>0.5</fMaxWetLevel>
    </Script3DSound>
    j) Open Your Civ4Civilizationinfos.XML file
    k) edit these 2 lines right at the end of your civilization's Info
    <CivilizationSelectionSound>AS3D_{Your Civ}_SELECT</CivilizationSelectionSound>
    <CivilizationActionSound>AS3D_{You Civ}_ORDER</CivilizationActionSound>
    l) Test to see if it works!!!! (start game use your civ... open world editor (CTRL-W) and give yourself lots of settlers and put them all over the place!! Close the editor and build cities all over the place they should be saying the wav's you selected them to say. keep clicking on them to test the selection wav's
     
  3. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Anyone having any issues or got confused by this how to please PM me so I can correct any wording to make it easier to understand.

    ENJOY!
     
  4. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    reserved for future posting
     
  5. Jeckel

    Jeckel Great Reverend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Very interesting, thanx for writing this.
     
  6. Gypsy1969

    Gypsy1969 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    I have followed all the directions....still not working?? Could it be that my wav files are wrong or something?
     
  7. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Could you post your xml on this thread and we'll have a peek at it.
     
  8. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,304
    Location:
    Poland
    Is it possible to add diffrent music to each civilization? I mean, not diplomacy music, but the soundtrack. That would be great to have diffrent soundtracks for each civilization.
     
  9. Mozza

    Mozza Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    I added some unit sounds myself, it's pretty easy to give a specific unit a unique sound (look at the Spy ArtDefineUnit it's very straight forward). My problem was finding decent wavs to use. I searched for free wavs on-line and 805 of it was porn, this is probably a trait of the internet rather than wav files per se. Though the idea of my female archer orgasming each time I clicked on her amused me somewhat, I realised I'd be far too reluctant to upgrade to Longbowmen when the time came.
     
  10. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    Sorry darko not sure what you are referring to when you say soundtracks?

    Please explain to me in further detail as to what exactly is the soundtrack you are reffering to?

    I think you might be reffering to when you are playing as a certain civ you hear cetain music playing????
     
  11. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    mozza I found tones of actual wav are easy to create yourself with a microphone and someone with the voice you want to use. I just asked some of my friends to speak into a microphone for me. and record it.

    Other options i have found for fiding wav files is http://wav.com/
     
  12. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    I have had this come up a few times now.

    People are not getting any sound

    REMEMBER to check that the data are placed within the SOUNDDATA portion of your audiodefines.xml file
     
  13. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    I am Assuming this HOW TO is working well since I get no feedback....
    If you think it should be referenced differently lemme know OK?

    Don't hesitate to rate this thread :)
     
  14. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Thanks for the guide. I do have a question though -- I wanted to add several variants of the old Soviet anthem I'd found on the Internet for Stalin's diplomacy music, instead of the Volga Boatsmen theme for Peter...but I looked at the AudioDefines.xml file for Warlords, and there is no listing for Stalin. How is Stalin ending up with that theme? Is the game just defaulting to Peter 's music in the absence of commands for Stalin?

    Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  15. darko82

    darko82 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,304
    Location:
    Poland

    Yes, this is what I mean.
     
  16. purplexus

    purplexus Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta, Canada
    you will definately need someone beyond my skills to actually program this in. Basically all this program is capable of doing at this time is to tell the game to look in a file and play the music in there. Mind you it also tells the game to play certain music during certain eras but... there would need to be a tag included into the Defines that would say this music is to played when this civ is being played by an actual player.

    A suggestion is to ask the CCCP team to make it for you.

    They are combining all these little mod tweaks into one Dll so that we can use more then one mod at a time.
     
  17. boondockdragon

    boondockdragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    I am adding a new technology to my civ4 game, and am having difficulty with the sound file. I have all the correct XML and when loading the game it loads fine, no problem, but without the sound file (so up to the point of making the sound file everything works fine)

    I then get my MP3 file with the sound I want for the quote, and copy it into the right place, along with all the others, and start up civ again. But it crashed when trying to set up the audio. So, I removed the sound file and tried loading again, but now every time I try to load the game, it crashes! Even though I removed the file I thought was causing the problem!

    If anyone has any help or ideas they would be apprieciated, otherwise I have to reinstall the game again and see if that works!
     
  18. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    I made all as you wrote and it not work. I think, can be some problem in mp3 file? settings for save?... frequency, stereo/mono etc???
     
  19. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    You probably need to empty your cache. Press the shift button when loading the game (continuously).
     
  20. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Do the songs need to be in a certain format to work?
     

Share This Page