How to get the Civ VI SDK/Modding toolkit if you have the Epic Games version of Civ VI?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Question, Oct 31, 2021.

  1. Question

    Question King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    I have Civ VI on Epic Games, but there doesnt appear to be a way to download the SDK/Modding toolkit from Epic Games. I know you can get it from Steam, but Steam refuses to let you download it unless you have the steam version of Civ VI (as far as i can tell anyway).

    Is there a way to download the Civ VI SDK if you have the Epic Games verison of Civ VI? Is there a way to import it to the Steam Library or something so that Steam will recognize that I have it and let me download the SDK?
     
  2. Hakan-i Cihan

    Hakan-i Cihan Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I know there is the possibility to link games from other stores/sources to steam. But I do not know whether it will allow installing Civ VI SDK if Civ VI from Epic is linked to your Steam. You could try or maybe others have a better solution..?
     
  3. pokiehl

    pokiehl Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    There isn’t any way.
     
  4. Question

    Question King

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    How do you link them to steam?
     
  5. pokiehl

    pokiehl Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,547
    A quick Google search will show you how to add non-Steam games to Steam desktop.

    All this does is make Steam a shortcut for launching it. It does nothing to change ownership or confer ownership on the Steam platform.

    there’s no way to get the SDK without having a Steam copy of the game
     
    Hakan-i Cihan likes this.

Share This Page