1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to increase Max Wonders per city?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by ravenone, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Okay, here is another problem I can't figure out. How do you increase the max Wonders per city allowed from the default of 4 ? I've tried editing the GlobalDefines.xml file and setting:

    <DefineName>MAX_WORLD_WONDERS_PER_CITY</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>-1</iDefineIntVal>

    I've also tried other values such as 8, 99, etc. and this define does not seem to affect anything. I've searched and search and can't find where in the mod to change this max value so I can build more wonders in a city.

    Anyone have any idea where to change this max value??

    p.s. and Yes I'm changing it, then relaunching Civ4 and starting a new game each time, but the value is not being looked at.

    thanks!
     
  2. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    no one? I can't imagine that there is no way around the 4 Wonders max per city....
     
  3. Stormwind

    Stormwind King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Are you sure to edit the correct file ? It has to be in Beyond the Sword\Mods\Rise of Mankind\Assets\XML

    Works flawless for me.
     
  4. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Yup that is the one. I open it with wordpad, make the edit, then do a save of the file.

    Maybe there is something weird with wordpad. Can I talk you into uplaoding your file and then I can just replace mine?
     
  5. Chiyochan

    Chiyochan King

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Chiyochan's Country
    try clearing your cache, i edit this frequently whenever i want to play one city challenge, its always worked for me.
     
  6. genine

    genine Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Kortrijk
    I have exactly the same problem, with other mods this method works fine but with RoM it doesn't
     
  7. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    I've done that also and I still have a 4 World Wonder per city max.

    Okay, I've tried using the non-megapack 2.5 mod version and it works fine. So, my problem and the possible bug is with the 2.5megapack that it does not look at this xml define setting.
     
  8. genine

    genine Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Kortrijk
    How do you clear your cache?
     
  9. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Once you start to load Civ, hold down the Shift key while it continues to load. You should see as the various items load and progress bar moves, that one of the items listed is "XML (uncached) load" or something like that.
     
  10. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    You'll need to change also the team wonder amount as in normal games 1 player = 1 team.
     
  11. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113

    I did change that setting also(see below) but it still doesn't let me build more than 4 with the 2.51MegaPack.

    Here is what my seetings in the GlobalDefines.xml are:

    <Define>
    <DefineName>MAX_WORLD_WONDERS_PER_CITY</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>-1</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <DefineName>MAX_TEAM_WONDERS_PER_CITY</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>-1</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <DefineName>MAX_NATIONAL_WONDERS_PER_CITY</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>-1</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
    <Define>
    <DefineName>MAX_NATIONAL_WONDERS_PER_CITY_FOR_OCC</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>-1</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>
     
  12. cr0ws

    cr0ws Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    571
    This must be a 2.51Megapack bug, cause the simple mod alterations work fine for me.
     
  13. genine

    genine Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Kortrijk
    I've got it going to without megapack
     
  14. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    I did a clean install and then discovered I had a very old ROM version in the "My Games" folder under the BTS/Mods sub-folder. I removed that and now the 2.51megpack is working correctly and reading the XML file to allow more wonders per city!
     
  15. NDCSPURS

    NDCSPURS Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    I had the same problem, I'm using vista and notepad++ was saving GlobalDefines.xml to the virtual store. You can either disable UAC, change the permissions for the file\folder or save the file to the desktop and manually copy it into proper folder
     
  16. civhelp121

    civhelp121 Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    United States
    when I clicked the xml file to increase max wondes, I got an internet page that said I don't have th program to read the xml file. Where can I get the program to increase the max wonders?
     
  17. ravenone

    ravenone Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    113
    Instead of double clicking on the file, right click and select to open with word pad or note pad to edit the file.
     
  18. Jabarto

    Jabarto Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,025
    Location:
    Colorado, U.S.
    Open it with Notepad - or better yet, Notepd++ - http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

    EDIT: Curse you, ravenone.! :mad:
     

Share This Page