improving tiles with forest on them..

sens1942

Chieftain
Maybe i should post this in the strategy forums but since it's more of a question i thaugh id try here first..

This question is for when lumbermills are NOT yet AVAILABLE.

In almost every game i play i find myself debating how to improve a tile that as a forest (thats not on a river). So hardcore in fact that by the time the lumbermills are available its still untouched, because not knowing how much good/or not it will turn out to be id rather not touch it. Multiply that by like 25 games it's obvious i'll never be able to make a decision on my own.

So i'm asking you , who's reading this post.. Do you normally improve that tile instead of waiting for lumbermills? If so what is your improvements choices? And if you state some exemple if you could add on what kinda tile (floodplains, hills , etc..) you do X improvements that would be great as well.

I also wanna add that i started playing civ with civ4 and never played any other versions. I've read alot of post and elevated my game a good 2000% so far.. going from struggling victory on chieftain to constant victories on noble. From what i gather in other threads, everyone as their own take on the subject.. but no one really says what would be the best options... as i am new to all this, going through threads with intense detail, mathematical and others i find myself lost most of the time. anyone else out there like me? lol

Anyhow.. any imput welcome!

Forests are for chopping. That's my take on it. :p

If you need 2 forests because your city is REALLY unhealthy and you have no other way of keeping the city healthy nor do you have food bonusses to compensate the unhealthiness, then (and only then) I would just leave the 2 forests alone for the entire game untill lumbermills. You'll have 18 other squares to improve so leaving the forests alone wont change much in your game.