1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Interface upgrades

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by merijn_v1, Dec 31, 2018.

  1. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,635
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    Recently I created a small indicator that shows the amount of national wonders and world wonders and their limits. During a game I knew I had some wonders in a city, but I didn't know how many and what exactly my limit was. I wanted to know if I could build a certain wonder of keep that slot open for another (better) wonder.

    Ofcourse I could have counted the (non-obsolete) wonders and look up in the pedia what the limit is, but that takes effort. So I decided to create the indicator in the spirit of BUG.

    Spoiler :


    Maybe there are more things that could have a BUG-like indicator. With a BUG-like indicator I mean something that shows information that is already present to you, but you have to search for it. The wonder indicator described above is a good example. The indicator automizes the searching for you and displays it so you can view it in a single glance.

    That does not mean that every little thing should have an indicator. First of all it will clutter up the screen. Secondly, some things are intended to be hidden.

    So do you guys have ideas for indicators or any information you would like to be able to see easily in a game?
     
  2. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Stalin and Starlight, Stalling a Stallion

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,631
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    Well, I think you should see the Cultural Garrison and maybe also the power value of a given unit in its tooltip.
     
  3. Dominus the Mentat

    Dominus the Mentat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    I don't know if this is the right place or the bug thread. If I'm be wrong I will replace it. The indicator isn't well balanced in the city advisor screen.

    Civ4ScreenShot0054.JPG
     
  4. DarkLunaPhantom

    DarkLunaPhantom Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    417
    What is your ingame resolution?
     
    Dominus the Mentat likes this.
  5. Dominus the Mentat

    Dominus the Mentat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    It was 1024x768. Is that the problem ?
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,455
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    It's the reason why there isn't enough space to display all the information. You should be able to set it to the maximum resolution without issues.
     
    Dominus the Mentat likes this.
  7. Dominus the Mentat

    Dominus the Mentat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Thank you guys !

    Civ4ScreenShot0098.JPG
     
  8. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,635
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I created a new BUG option to show the UHV help text, even after you completed/failed the UHV. Sometimes I didn't fulfill the requirement on time, but I wanted to know how many extra turns I needed to meet the requirement. I can also image that it can be used for alternative challenges in which you don't want the counter to stop when you reach the UHV.

    I could also move the option "Display UHV End Turns" to the BUG menu too.

    Can anyone think of some other (DoC related) interface options like this that could be added? I am pretty sure there are many interface items some players would like to disable and others don't.

    EDIT: I think one option could be to disable the "switch to newborn civs" popup.
    EDIT2: Maybe some stability warning could also work.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 26, 2019
  9. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,380
    Oh, like that small "Your stability has worsened/improved, it's now at Stable/Shaky/etc" pull request I made a while back. Leoreth thought it was unnecessary, but making it an optional thing would really help new players.
     
    Gianmarco Silvestro likes this.
  10. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,635
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I made a PR with some new BUG options.
    • Show UHV progress after completion/failure
    • Moved "Display UHV end turns" option to BUG menu
    • Can disable UHV failure popup
    • Can disable switch to newborn civ popup

    @1SDAN
    You could make a PR yourself with the stability notifications as a BUG option. You can use my PR as an example how to create new BUG options. If you have any questions just ask.
     
    Crimean Lord, 1SDAN and Leoreth like this.

Share This Page