1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is Window Media player supposed to open avi files?

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Tomoyo, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    I umm... have an .avi file that I would like to play, but whenever I try to play it in Windows Media Player (also tried Real), the video part of the file doesn't work properly and Windows Media Player recognizes it as an audio file. I have the latest version of WMP, so I don't really know what wrong. Could it be a corruption in the .avi file itself?
     
  2. Paalikles

    Paalikles Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,536
    It might be. Are you able to get another copy of the file?

    could it be that you need a codec for it to run?
     
  3. Zwelgje

    Zwelgje Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,953
    Don't know what the exact problem is with you but WMP should play avi. Have you tried to play another avi with your WMP and does that work? If so, your avi probably is corrupted or WMP needs a plugin to be able to play the avi. Somewhere there's an option that you should check within WMP to allow WMP to connect to the internet to download plugins. Hope this is of any help. ;)
     
  4. ummmm........

    ummmm........ Extremely normal.

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,960
    Location:
    An RKO Radio Picture
    Probably best to just go ahead and download another, uh, nature film.
     
  5. GenMarshall

    GenMarshall Blood Elven Ghost Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    43,135
    Location:
    New Suramar City, Vekta, United Terran Systems
    By default (IE if you dont have any other media players that can play an *.avi file) Windows Media Player plays any *.avi files.

    @Tomoyo - What version of Windows Media Player do you have?
     
  6. Mise

    Mise isle of lucy

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28,622
    Location:
    London, UK
    Do you have the codecs?
     
  7. Dell19

    Dell19 Take a break

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    16,231
    Location:
    London
    It'll almost certainly be the codecs. I do have one song that media player refuses to play but all other audio players will play it.
     
  8. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    Well, considering it said something about the codec, it probably is. Are there any other players that can play *.avi files?

    I have WMP 10.
     
  9. nonconformist

    nonconformist Miserable

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    18,740
    Location:
    Canterbury
    What's a codec?
     
  10. Chairman Meow

    Chairman Meow Class IV

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,307
    Location:
    In an optical fiber
    codec stands for coder/decoder... it basically decodes the video so it can be played.
     
  11. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    Oh, and I forgot to ask: How does one obtain said codecs?
     
  12. Mise

    Mise isle of lucy

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    28,622
    Location:
    London, UK
    If you don't have the codecs, no player will play it. You'll either need to google the codec name, or let WMP find it on the internet. I'm not really up on codecs, but I'm sure you could just google "common codec pack" and download the common ones off a decent site that doesn't look like a p0rn/warez site.
     
  13. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    I downloaded it by following the links from WMP, and it's working! :)
     
  14. Thrawn

    Thrawn Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,740
    Location:
    New Zealand
    In the future, if you get something which won't play like that, try GSpot. It tells you what codecs a file needs among other things. A quick search on google is then all you need to get them. :)
     
  15. nonconformist

    nonconformist Miserable

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    18,740
    Location:
    Canterbury
    Danke Schoen :).

    Man, I was between quantum states on that ;)
     
  16. Jeratain

    Jeratain On the can.

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,694
    Location:
    SF, CA
    If you are too lazy to try GSpot, just download the Defiler Pak (do a Google for it). That includes all necessary codecs to run just about any video file, and it includes ffdshow :yeah
     
  17. steviejay

    steviejay Now in Black and White!!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,343
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I've got a big problem with codecs at the moment. for some strange and mystical reason I have a video (a rather large video) that will run perfectly...... with no sound, I mean come on!!
     
  18. Woody

    Woody General

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    439

    Not unusual at all, video and audio use different codecs. Having one doesnt mean you will have the other. I suggest getting that GSpot program, it will tell you what codec you need for both the video and audio part of your avi file.
     

Share This Page