1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mammoth scenario crash

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Scenario League' started by angamandi, Mar 3, 2020.

  1. angamandi

    angamandi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello all,
    I recently discovered the Mammoth scenario from the folder bestnet2. I always thought it was some kind of prehistoric scenario but it's a sci-fi one. Anyway.

    The problem is i can't pass the second turn. At the end of it, it crashes. I checked for solutions online and i found only one that advised to save the game in the main folder of civII but this is a poor solution since all the special units and building disappear...

    Do you have any solution to fix that? Or there is none?

    Thanks to let me know!

    Lucas.
     
  2. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,880
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Can you give details about what version of Civ2 you are using, and if you have made changes to your game files, etc?
     
  3. techumseh

    techumseh Emperor SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    in the frozen north
    That flaw has always been there. It's most likely a tech loop that prevents researching Future Technology.
     
  4. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,880
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    It seems so. A comb through the rules file, and custom edit would fix the future tech bug.
     
  5. angamandi

    angamandi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hello, thanks for replying.
    I have CivilizationII ultimate classic collection which is MGE i think because it is not Test of Time.
    I did not make any change to any file.

    Is there a way to fix it or it's too bad and unpayable?
     
  6. techumseh

    techumseh Emperor SLeague Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    in the frozen north
    What civilization did you play? I played 11 turns as the Mavericks without it crashing. If it is a tech loop, you will probably have to map out the tech tree. It helps to know which technology is being researched by each civilization just before the crash.

    As I recall, crashes happen when a technology is a prerequisite (however many removed) for a technology that is in turn a prerequisite for that technology. So, if you need tech A to research tech B, and need tech B to research tech A, then you have a loop, which can prevent you (or the AI) from researching Future Technology, and the game crashes.
     
  7. Patine

    Patine Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    8,265
    Is that the one where Bo Gritz is the default American leader, and "Klintonism," is the renamed Communism government?
     
  8. Wooly

    Wooly Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Did anyone ever find a solution to this? The bug has been in that scenario since MGE launch and I've always wanted to actually be able to play through it. Unfortunately seems to occur after a dozen turns or so no matter which civ you pick.
     
  9. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,880
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    Maybe someone should take tech's advice and do the quality control check the original designers seemed to have not bothered with.
     
  10. JPetroski

    JPetroski Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,739
    @Wooly The easiest solution is simply to make future tech nil, nil and make it 0,0 for desirability (to minimize the AI being dumb and grabbing it). This is achievable by anyone playing in moments. If you want to go through the entire techs you can but it'll be cumbersome. At least this gets you playing, if a tech loop is indeed throwing the error.

    I don't have the scenario in front of me (or even MGE) but go through the rules in the @Civilize, scroll down to whatever future tech is (it should have the ; ... at the end) and make the following changes. The highlighted fields should both read 0. The red circled area needs to say nil

    upload_2021-4-22_10-49-29.png

    Future Technology, 0, 0, nil, nil, 3, 3 ; ...
     
    CurtSibling likes this.
  11. CurtSibling

    CurtSibling ENEMY ACE™ SLeague Staff Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    28,880
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Innsmouth
    That is the best way to bypass the bug. If the AI wastes time researching the future tech, it doesn't matter too much.

    The AI's strategy is basically irrelevant in these primeval scenarios.
     
  12. Knighttime

    Knighttime Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    214
    I analyzed the tech tree (with a little help from Lua ;)) but didn't find any loops. So if changing Future Technology to 0, 0, nil, nil works, great -- but I'd be pretty surprised.

    However, if I temporarily get rid of EVENTS.TXT then it seems like I can play the scenario without crashing, at least for awhile. There aren't even very many events, but maybe something there isn't correct. I'd recommend that someone who's good with the macro language review that file carefully.
     

Share This Page