1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

map making

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by littlec7821, Dec 5, 2006.

  1. littlec7821

    littlec7821 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    sry im a noob, how do you make maps in civ 3?
     
  2. madviking

    madviking north american scum

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    flavortown
    use the editor, chose the terrain and place on the map, same with resources and overlays
     
  3. psweetman1590

    psweetman1590 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    There is a program called Civ Editor that comes with the game. Open this and you can create your own maps, as well as mess around with units and whatnot.

    Edit: Gah, beaten to the punch...
     
  4. littlec7821

    littlec7821 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i know that but how do i get to the editor?
     
  5. psweetman1590

    psweetman1590 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    Well, click start, go to the programs area where civ3 is located. Go just as if you're about to start the game.... STOP!! Just before you click on that, look at the other items in this subset. There should be a civedit option. Click that, and you're set.
     
  6. madviking

    madviking north american scum

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    flavortown
    program files -> Civ3 -> Editor

    Edit: grumble grumble
     
  7. littlec7821

    littlec7821 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    its not there....

    Start> Programs> Firaxis games> Civilization III> Civ 3, Uninstall, and readme are the only things there
     
  8. madviking

    madviking north american scum

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    flavortown
    there should be another folder with 'civ3 edit' ors something, the file should be there.

    If go to your 'my computer' thing and go to civ3 there should be a file with the edit link in it
     
  9. littlec7821

    littlec7821 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    yeah im running all sorts of searches trying to find it... ugh this is pissing me off
     
  10. littlec7821

    littlec7821 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    yay i found it!
     
  11. madviking

    madviking north american scum

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    11,337
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    flavortown
    congrats!!
     

Share This Page