1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Map Script] Earth3

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Map Scripts' started by jkp1187, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Download here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=7788


    This is simply GRM7584's Earth2.py script (a modified Terra script that randomly creates a somewhat Earth-like world,) with the script forcing civs to start in the Old World removed and replaced instead with the civ placement script from LDiCesare's Tectonics.py script. As a result, starting civs will be placed either in the Eastern or Western Hemispheres. The Tectonics placement script, however, should eliminate the chance that they will start on a one or two tile island (which was a problem if you just removed the original script without any replacement.) The Tectonics placement script is also biased toward starting two civs on the same continent, reducing the danger that one civ will have free run of the New World, while the others knock their heads against each other in the East.


    Since these Terra-style maps are larger than the default maps, and since the whole map is now open up to settlement at the game start, it is probably best to use more than the default number of civs when playing on this map. For a standard-sized map (default = 7), I'd suggest at least 9, maybe up to 11-12 civs.

    Sample pics of a STANDARD-sized Earth3 map with eleven (11) civs:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Awsome script - i like it much :)
     
  3. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    version 1.5

    The placement script was throwing an error, and so it had to be reworked. Incredibly huge thanks to Sto -- he pretty much rewrote the whole code on his own initiative, while I was still scratching my head!

    :thanx:

    See link in original post to download the latest version.
     
  4. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Fixed the download link.
     
  5. roidesfoux

    roidesfoux Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    I'd love to try this script out, but the download link redirects to filefront, which says that it doesn't have the file. Could jkp1187 please fix this, or if they are unavailable can someone who has already downloaded it make it available or send it to me?
     
  6. BobTheBull

    BobTheBull Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    New Orleans
    I have recreated jkp1187's earth3.py, by merging Tectonics civ placement script with earth2, as he said.

    The new file is attached to this reply.

    If someone wants to post this in the downloads section feel free; I don't know how.
     
  7. BobTheBull

    BobTheBull Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    New Orleans
    File didn't get attached first time.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. civcivv

    civcivv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    London
    Does your script have the errors fixed that the OP mentioned?
     
  9. civcivv

    civcivv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    London
  10. MusX

    MusX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Poland
    are the plain frequency based on earth plain freq too? i see lots of plains and few grasses :/
     
  11. Temudjin

    Temudjin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    I've just released an updated version of this map-script. It's one of the scripts included in my MapScriptTools and as such dependent on them.

    Earth3_162_mst.py - Version History
    Version 1.62 - edited by Temudjin - 15.Jul.2010
    - NOW DEPENDS ON MapScriptTools.py

    Allow more world sizes, if supported by mod
    Add Deep Ocean terrain, if supported by mod
    Add Map Features ( Kelp, HauntedLands, CrystalPlains )
    Compatibility with 'Mars Now!'

    Version 1.61 - edited by Temudjin - 15.Sep.2009
    - NOW DEPENDS ON MapScriptTools.py

    Change Japan
    Add New Zealand, Madagascar
    Add Himalayas (single BigDent at special place)
    Add rivers from lakes, on islands

    Version 1.60 - edited by Temudjin - 10.Aug.2009
    - NOW DEPENDS ON MapScriptTools.py

    Compatibility with 'Planetfall'
    Add Map Options: MapRegion, BalancedResources, TeamStart
    Create Special Regions (Bogs, Dents, Elemental Quarter, Lost Isle)
    Place Kelp, Haunted Lands and Crystal Plains if mod allows for them
    Add Marsh terrain, if supported by mod

    Version 1.52 - edited by Temudjin - 15.Jun.2008
    - NOW DEPENDS ON Ringworld2.py

    Check for Temudjin's Cool Starting Plots
    Print stats of mod and map
    _____
    Thank you jkp1187 for the excellent map and also GRM7584 on who's Earth2.py this map was based.
     
  12. Pangur Bán

    Pangur Bán Deconstructed

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    9,017
    Location:
    Transtavia
    Anyone know of an earth map where the AI will be forced to name cities after their RL location? I'd like to play a normal earth map game, but it's pointless if Sparta is founded in Anatolia and Damascus in the Yemen.
     

Share This Page