1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

minutia of running se

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by DragonKnight, May 2, 2011.

  1. Inso

    Inso Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    It doesn't need a generic orientation, I never think to myself in the game 'need to run an SE/CE' here. Instead I look at the land available and try to make one Bureaucracy commerce city, a few specialist cities, a few production cities, etc. I aim to have decent numbers of GPP, strong commerce, ability to make lots of units/buildings quickly, etc. All these things help to win a game.

    And of course if I end up with lots of cottage cities I will be more likely to go for free speech/emancipation, just as if I have many high food sites caste system/representation will be more desirable.

    The point is there's no need to decide at any point on one rigid economy style, rather play the map and leader and do whatever will maximise the strengths available from either.
     
  2. yatta77

    yatta77 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Thanks for replying! And yes, maximize is the goal IMO makes sense, of course: there is no need to self-impose anything. Choices should depends summing all the factors (ehm... talking for myself I too often end up choosing a SE :D).
    Sorry if I partly misunderstood your previous post (probably because of my English language limits). :)

    yatta.
     
  3. pi-r8

    pi-r8 Luddite

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,501
    Location:
    Babylon
    Yeah, this. The only time it makes sense to run an economy entirely based on specialists is when you have lots of high food tiles but very few good other tiles to work. (like tiny islands with lots of seafood). Probably shouldn't be financial either, since financial cottages or coast are such good deals. And you'll need either the pyramids, or at least get to constitution fast. Most of the time it's just not worth it.

    Of course you always want gpp, but I wouldn't consider that a specialist economy.
     
  4. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    The automation features in civ are atrocious. It's much wiser to just bite the bullet and play the game yourself rather than rely on the computer to do it for you. Sure, we'd all love to be able to switch our PC on in the morning, start up Civ, go to work, and have the game finished for us when we arrive home, but alas, we just have to play the damn thing for ourselves. What a drag. :aargh:
     
  5. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,680
    Then again, it IS possible to win using the automation features on most difficulties.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=407741
     
  6. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    It's also possible to win without tile improvements or units, but probably not advisable or fun. :p

    Okay, I made up the one about units. But I'm sure somebody could do it.
     
  7. yatta77

    yatta77 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Uhm... no. Basically I like moving white circles around. I only wish you could specify in advance which "tile work"/"specialist add" when the population grow, so you don't have to memorize the populations of all the cities and/or check every single turn. :crazyeye:
    yatta.
     
  8. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Really? I hate playing Civ. It's such a damn chore. I'm thinking of hiring somebody else to play my civ games for me.

    Spoiler :
    SARCASM! :lol:
     
  9. yatta77

    yatta77 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Yeah, it was clear since your first post that you were being sarcastic. :lol:
    My bad,
    probably it needed a smiley... :D since I was answering keeping in talking-joking. :p
    And then the note I added about a feature I would like should be in another paragraph.
    Oh well, a half-morning spent in laughing in front of a monitor instead of producing something. I think I'll sue you for that.
    Spoiler :
    Sarcasm :D

    yatta.
     
  10. ahcos

    ahcos King

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    919
  11. TheMeInTeam

    TheMeInTeam Top Logic

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25,680
    It *would* be really nice if the UI allowed for rapid inputs of necessary micromanagement, but that doesn't seem to be a priority.

    The governor is at its absolute worst when building wealth/research, pulling citizens off of improved mines to work completely unimproved flat grassland........while at the :)/:health: caps! It's a bit better than the period of time where the civ V governor would starve you without prompt, but only a bit.
     
  12. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
  13. coanda

    coanda Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652
    Two words: Great Wall. Barbs now no longer a threat. And on Monarch difficulty you have enough time before barbs will enter your borders that you could probably expand once or twice then build TGW and still get it in time.
     

Share This Page