1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Modmod] CB-Mod for RaR

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by Commander Bello, Nov 27, 2013.

  1. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Did you clear the cache when loading the mod after installing patch A? (Actually, this is always recommended and it would be best to have these lines in your CivilizationIV.ini-file:
    Code:
    ; Disable caching of file system (may slow initialization)
    DisableFileCaching = 1

    Depends on the underlying terrain. If terrain = savannah, then the normal yield of coffee is 3, if marsh then it will be 2. Jungle decreases this by -1 and the bonus ressource adds 2.
    So, if your terrain is savannah, then yes, the result is correct and as intended.

    Don't forget that for the best yield you should create a plantage anyway (which means: removing of the jungle).
     
  2. Dunpeal

    Dunpeal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Weird, I cleared the cache and now tobacco resource is being generated correctly on savannah plots, thanks!

    Ok, I was asking you about the coffee flowers because it seems they roughly equate to (in price at least, see europe printscreen) to cacao and red pepper and I am a bit confused with their required plots and yields, for example:

    cocoa pods:
    - only available on jungle plots (+3)
    - cacao resource gives a +2 bonus
    - there is no penalty from other plots
    total = 5

    *from the printscreen attached it seems the cacao resource bonus is broken because the total yield is 3?
    * the names cocoa pods and cacao don't seem very consistent, do they?


    coffee berries:
    - only available on savannah (+3) or marsh (+2)
    - coffee resource gives a +2 bonus
    total = 5 (for savannah)

    *from the printscreen attached it seems the total is correct (savannah)
    * the names coffee berries and coffee don't seem very consistent, do they?


    red pepper:
    - cannot find a plot that gives red pepper on the terrain features pedia entries?? although many plots give penalty
    - hill plots give +3 (surprise, there's no terrain feature pedia entry for hill plot)
    - red pepper resource gives a +2 bonus
    total = 5

    *add hill entry? (and peak entry while you're at it)
    * see, here red pepper resource = red pepper good

    finally, for gold the only way of producing this is by having a plot with the gold resource (+2) and mine improvement does not give extra yield but many plots give penalty to production (gold costs double silver so you should technically be able to produce roughly half the amount of silver you produce only 2 and 4 with prospector compared with mountain (+1) + silver resource (+2) + large mine (+2) = 5 and 10 with prospector for silver)- it doesn't feel right, does it? perhaps a flat +3 or a large mine +1?

    sorry for so many questions but i prefer to check with you if it's your mod, otherwise i'll go report this on the R&R bug thread
    can you please check these? thanks =)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Glad that now it works. :)

    Regarding the other questions:
    I just noticed that the terrain/feature combinations aren't anymore as I did plan them in my Excel sheet. Jungle, for instance, should not be present on underlying farmland.
    Seems that I once forgot to copy the files correctly from one RaR-version to the next and so this mistake wandered into my modmod too.

    I will check (and probably change) this after the next RaR-version will have been released.
    Regarding naming and pricing: as far as I remember, I haven't changed any names. I remember that there has been a discussion regarding coffee, and it might have even been started by myself. Anyway, the names for "raw" coffee and "raw" cocoa and their respective manufactured equivalents should be the same as in RaR.
    Prices I haven't touched yet (well, actually I have touched some, but not released this yet), as I am going to do some changes in the price finding functionality.

    As I have said earlier: the next changes will happen after release 1.9 of RaR. Doesn't make too much sense to do this right now, with RaR 1.9 only some days away...
     
  4. Dunpeal

    Dunpeal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    You're up too xD
    Thanks for the clear reply and in that case I will just wait until the next release of R&R, which seems to be the last sniff sniff so glad that you are continuing with your project!
     
  5. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Well, I guess I have found the error which led to jungle appearing on farmland.

    When I prepared the files for the initial version, I was making use of an extension for Notepad++ which proved to cause quite some problems.
    As I just noticed, additionally it inserted empty lines on a random basis. Seems that these empty lines did not cause an XML error but some side effects nevertheless.

    This will be corrected in the next version.
     
  6. Dunpeal

    Dunpeal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Tx for the update!
     
  7. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Well, the problem was not the empty lines (although they didn't look very nice), but the fact that the FaireWeather mapscript uses its own routines for placing features.

    I have fixed now the appearance of jungles and forests. Forests will only appear on farmland (former grassland) and plains ("Prärie" in German), while jungle will only appear on marsh and savannah.
    Problem is that this makes the bonus ressource tobacco a scarce item, as savannah is almost all times covered with jungle. Because there are other bonus ressources linked to jungle, tobacco has to compete with them...

    As long as I haven't found a good solution for this, I will just make tobacco a bit more expansive, I guess. :think:
     
  8. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Version 0.7.025 released.

    Find changelog and files in the initial posting.

    I wanted to step up to version 0.8.xxx, but found that there are so many interdepencies which I couldn't resolve in time, that I decided to release the adaption to RaR 1.9 now.

    Edit: and now even with the recently changed source files :blush:
     
  9. Don Senglar

    Don Senglar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    I recommend to read a "XVI century cannons" story and especially this phrase:

    And now let's return to the game. It looks very strange when very low-mobile XVI century artillery can not only attack, but even capture enemy city.

    I made a fast search in Google for "XVI century cannon" and asked to show me only images. You can repeat to see these old cannons.

    How such cannons can capture something??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

    They can only bombard the city's fortifications, destroy some buildings, kill some units inside the city walls, but never capture the city!

    How it was in history?


    Capture of Maastricht by Alejandro Farnesio in 1579. Monastery of San Lorenzo del Escorial. Madrid

    Are you plan to change this situation in your mod?
     
  10. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Yes, I am planning to change that as it bothers me, too.
    The problem is that such a drastic change can only work if the AI understands the new principles, too. In all other areas you can help yourself a bit by giving the AI some advantages. In combat, you can't. Players wouldn't accept this (and in these regards I am completely a player).

    But understanding the current way of "decision making" of the AI is not that easy. Even more difficult it is to create a new, at least somewhat meaningful way for it.
     
  11. Dunpeal

    Dunpeal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Thanks, downloading now. I'm not sure what the changes are, it's late so maybe I'm being thick but what is intended with

    "Version 0.7.025 ***************
    ** changed functionality "

    Thanks!
     
  12. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    There aren't any big changes.

    In general it is only that smuggling ships now bribe (=do smuggling) only when the bribing rate is lower than the current taxes. This of course does not affect boycotted goods, for which nothing has changed.
    Then I corrected the bug that pirate frigates were not invisible as intended, and all other changes are just "under the hood" and won't be noticed by the player.
     
  13. Dunpeal

    Dunpeal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Thank you and sorry for the bother =)
     
  14. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    New version 0.7.046 released.

    Changes:
    Healing costs food. Food is taken from the city with the highest storage, but at least 10 food are left to avoid starvation. If not enough food is available, healing will not take place.
    European goods (manufactured goods) give you some profit when sold in the domestic markets.
    Scouts (and ships) finding treasures or gold suffer some damage to reflect the need to send some people back with that gold/treasure.

    More information and download in the first posting.
     
  15. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    Just for info: We are planning a complete overhaul of the military system with release 2.2 and further releases. Since this will be a lot of work it will take some time - however, after Release 2.1 we will presumably start our work on this feature.

    This should directly have an impact on your sub mod.
     
  16. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Thanks for the info. :)

    Any chance to announce the planned changes? I am thinking of finally realizing my proposed changes (in the German forum), too.
     
  17. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    The concept has several smaller parts / features.

    e.g.

    * Changing Cannon Units to Professions
    * New Combat Types
    * New Promotions
    * Rebuilding the way Cannons work (to feel more like Artillery and less like Tanks)
    * Further Military Professions
    * Specialists for Military Professions
    * Overhaul of AI logic for buying / equipping Military
    ...

    But all of this and more is planned after Release 2.1 has been published.
    (We will then see how much of our plans we are able to realize.)
     
  18. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Seems that our plans don't interfere. :)
     
  19. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    I don't think so either.

    But a lot of things in your modmod might need to be adjusted (or in some cases become unnecessary) after we have implemented and published our "Rebuild of Military and Combat System".
    I think that is all that Schmiddie wanted to tell you.

    Edit:
    However, that will need some time since there is a lot of work involved in that concept.
    So for the next months, you don't need to worry too much about any impacts of our plans on your modmod.
     
  20. Commander Bello

    Commander Bello Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,794
    Location:
    near Koblenz, Germany
    Added a short section about exploration in the first posting.
     

Share This Page