1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving to Emperor

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by Ceoladir, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Well I do not miss the snow or the ice or the cold, but the boss lady keeps wanting to spend time in it, not me. So witout further ado:

    F3 what dowe have? Well 32 workers for 44 towns. I would like maybe 60, 50 at least.
    No Iron, see one near Tenochtitlan, must get it.
    Gems need temple in Hillville and a road.

    9 galleys and only 2 are out? I only found 8. Disband the 3 regs and send out the rest to search. I figure you wanted them to invade Khan. I would let him wait till I had the whole continent.

    I am not sure I would have made an army with the MW. You now have to take great care or it can be killed. It has only 1 defense and that makes it a target. Form the army and leave it empty for knights. Well you need Iron.

    Kawauka, Oka, Gayagaahe, Kahnawake, Tyendenaga all are growing? Rememeber I warned you the AG trait would let them try to grow and you need to monitor them. Switch a pop in each to science and gain 13bpt.

    Perhaps a read of my Regent Tutorial would give you some ideas. I looked at one town, Kiohero, it is a real crime scene. It is size 5, with 11 food. It already has a market? Never going to get more than size 6, unless you pour a ton of money into it. It is making a lib to cash in on the huge 5 beakers it makes, huh?

    If you want to really make a go of the place and I would not have put all those resources into, take tiles from Centralia. Kio is squeezed on all sides by other towns or water, not the place to invest. I would take the citizen off the mined grass so Kente could have it. Switch to a worker, sell the market. Then put the town to sleep with as many scientist as I could get.

    Speaking of Kente is it worth doing anything here? Well it has crippled Oil Springs and it should never have been founded. Oil Spring has a market already, so I would abandon Kente and get Oil Spring built up. To that end I think I would switch the market in Kente to a settler.

    Get the worker coming out of Kio to the site. Abandon Kente once worker arrives, so it can road that tile. The settler I add to Oil Springs and start making this a real city.

    These towns near tundra that we want to grow need to get those trees chopped, we need the food.

    I guess I am wasting my time on these overviews as I find three SOLO workers in the tundra each planting trees on mines? Why would you tree a mine? That is a total waste of worker turns. Workers must be ganged by now as I mentioned already. When you get Steam it is easier to rail a mine than a tundra forest. Rail and then tree, if you want. The only reasons for a tree there are that a) you fear landing units moving b) you fear global warming changing the tile.

    You should actually chop all trees for shields and prep for rails at some point.

    I saw 2 workers move to a jungle that is not even in your borders? Must be better things for them to be doing. I pull workers from the front as war with Az is a must for the Iron and you have all these MW that are going to be worthless without an upgrade.

    Grand River: switch to temple and disband 2 regular galleys and send a stack of 4 out to sea.

    Salamanca: take tile from Tyen to boost shields, need to tree the unworked grass. Lets get this place as many shields as we can. I would have liked to see you get it to 20spt a while back and get Sun Tzu as it would save a lot of money and help with the war. Baring that, no more spears. You will need to throw a lot of MW's against those pikes to take down Montie.

    Niagara: I have to put Caugh on starvation and give the BG to Niag so it can get to city size. You must get more towns to city size.

    Catta: chop a tree and irigate (mine is ok too). The place makes 11 net shields. MW are 30, so you do not benefit form the extra shield, but would benefit form extra food to the tune of an extra specialist. You could even mine and make an aqua. Then irrigate to get to size 7.

    St Regis: switch lib to aqua and get the place growing.
    Mauch: aqua now please.
    Tona: aqua and then harbor and grow it.
    Drytown: did not listen to my other comments I see. Building a market for this desert town? No, switch to worker and scientist.

    I am sure I suggested to not build 100 turn things, but I see lots of markets going up in size 1 ,2 and such towns. They should only be farms and maybe a market can be rush down the road with a spare leader or CE's to speed the build.

    Just get them on a payoff basis, even if it is only 3 beakers. They can make treb, workers or settlers.

    Wasting workers, look at Neodakheat. Is totally corrupt, but has 2 slaves making a mine on a mountian? No point to that at all. Stop them and have them chop those trees and water those tiles and get farming.

    Trades, I wonder what occurred with Montie. I see three deals. One you get Ivory and one you get like 3gpt. I fear you gave them techs, if so that is not a good plan in my book. They have to be dealt with as they are next door. You do not pay them for things, you take them. That is harder now that so much time as gone past.

    The Vikes I am fine with as they are OCC.

    Get the elite MW to the front, move a new MW to that are. You will probably need to raze several towns as you really cannot hold them with spear and MW's. You have 1 settler and will need several more soon after you attack.

    Their capitol will have 6 units, probably all pikes and will cost you dearly. The army can be used, but needs spears with it for protection. If you have no spears the AI will put it up and bleed it either to death or worthlessness.
     
  2. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    The AI will still put it on top, even with vSpears. It has a defense value of 14. (14hp*1def) An eSpear has a defense value of 10. I am pretty sure that it the algorithm the AI uses.

    EDIT: Thank You!
     
  3. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Whatever the tech is that comes before Gunpowder, I just bought it this turn. That is why I am researching the top techs. Also, that army is from the first second Scandinavian war, formed around 150AD, so it was the only option. At the very least, it might serve as some defensive cover, although, I think a spear army would be a waste at this point, a Pike army might be plausible. What is the point of building a temple at Grand River, it has a Library. Is the face worth it?
     
  4. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Since my trading rep is shot, should I wait 20 turns to attack, or just go right after them. The 3gpt was just something I added on, and was probably a stupid decision. I see conflicting information about peace treaty reps. If you sign a peace treaty, and break it before the 20 turns are up, do you take a rep hit or not. I see both yes and no depending where I look. If I signed peace straight up without anything else, would that hurt my rep? What if I paid them? What if they paid me? Both of these questions are asked in terms of instant things like gold or techs. And do the same rules apply if there is gpt in the deal? Resources can't be traded at the peace screen.
     
  5. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I do not remember all the rules to Rep as I have no need to know all that stuff. I follow a simple rule. If I make a deal, I do not break it on purpose. I very rarely make deals like RoP and MPP.

    Not many resource or lux for gpt, where I supply the item. I rarely take out loans from the AI. Mostly I trade straight one time tech deals. This could be techs and cash, but no gpt from me.

    What that means it is rare for me to break any deals. If they break it, no problem.

    The later it is in the game the less the chances are that I will make any deal, other than to sell/gift to a backward nation. I do not want to pay for them to get stronger.

    If you have a busted rep, then nothing left worry about. A bad rep means they will not make a gpt deal with you. They will still trade.

    The longer you wait the less chance you have and will have to wait for something like rifles. If you wait, get those towns to cities. Get rid of spears to save cash. Prune the poorly placed towns to get them more productive.

    Find the others and see, if you can get some good trades.
     
  6. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    The longer I wait for what? GPT deal, or to trade?

    Also:

    "What is the point of building a temple at Grand River, it has a Library. Is the face worth it?"

    Please answer this question. It was the only thing I was wondering about that you posted. :confused:
     
  7. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Wait to go to war on Montie.

    I don't have the game up right now, so I forget what is going on in Grand River. I suspect I wanted to get the happy face now and let the place grow more. Understand that some times a choice is not the only reasonable option.

    At times I have two or three things for a given town and the order is not always critical. It may well be that I just hated the current build and want to get something that could use all the shields. I just do not remember.

    I have switched to 4 different game so far today and it hard to recall what was going on. I had your game up, then civ5 and then Moo and right now Darklords Rising and I am thinking of switching again.
     
  8. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Since Salamanca is size 12, my lux slider is currently adjusted to keep it happy, so there shouldn't be any need for a face there.
     
  9. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Could be it does not need it, but other size 12 cities may not have the same stuff the capitol has in it. Flying through all those towns, I could have written down the wrong thing. In any event the list is not gospel, just some fyi.
     
  10. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yeah, I discovered another solution for the Kio, Kente, Oil Springs dilemma that doesn't involve abandoning any cities.
     
  11. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Just remember that sometimes 2 size 4ish towns are not as good as 1 city. You have been building only the cheapest units in the game to date. Those 60, 70 and more shield units are going to require more than those tiny towns can provide.

    You can use the other guys lands that are going to be corrupt to get extra unit support. Do not get locked into keeping towns that are hurting your empire to get a little more unit support.
     
  12. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Oil Springs is almost growing into a city currently.
     
  13. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    I haven't had much Civ time lately, only a few turns per day, but here is a current save.

    I have chosen Domination to win the game.

    I don't really want the Indian city on my continent, just waiting for the Volcano to take it out, quietly replace it. Or win first.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Been swamped, but hope to peek at it soon.
     
  15. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    :bump:

    Anybody still responding? :)
     
  16. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain
    I had a look ... But what to say?

    It is practically over. Winning by either Domination, Conquest, Diplo, or Space Ship is just a formality. I would probably pick Diplo, because it is the least hassle.
     
  17. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    I have not forgotten, but in Rat41 right now.
     
  18. Ceoladir

    Ceoladir Come Fly With Me

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    Well, I have domination picked, it makes it feel like a better victory. The whole point of the save was more or less to get an Idea of the correct size of an invasion force, since my enemies have infantry, I will probably need to wait for tanks.
     
  19. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,841
    Location:
    Ohio
    I haven't looked at your save, but cavalry armies can take out infantry, basically by themselves. Also, cavalry with artillery can take out infantry also.
     
  20. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,701
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    Who are you invading, how many civs are you at war with on the landmass, what is the strength of the opposition. What is the terrain you will be on, do you have an armies? A lot of things impact what force you need.

    When I said who, I mean in terms of the units they have and stage of the game. Invasions are mucheasier with at least on solid army. By that I meanit is sure to not be attacked. Without that they may hit you right off the boat.

    I just always want to take as many of my best defenders as I can and then as many of my best attackers. No bombardment units, unless I have boats enough for all the other units first. Then if room a worker or two to prime the shield box for rushes, else use the boats.

    Landing sites depends on will I bring a settler or will I capture a town. Mountain if capture, hill if not. Ideally heal or trees as as many tiles as I can get to slwo the incoming. It is nice, if you can get them to send in the fast movers and then the slow, rather than both.
     

Share This Page