1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

MPPatch - Easy Modded Multiplayer

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Utility Programs' started by LymiaAluysia, Jun 16, 2017.

  1. LymiaAluysia

    LymiaAluysia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Fairyland
    MPPatch is a patch for Civilization V that allows mods to be used in multiplayer without specially preparing a mod pack, or anything like that. It basically adds back the multiplayer mods menu that got commented out, and makes it actually work. It currently supports Windows and Linux. I will eventually add Mac support. I don't currently have access to a Mac, so this could take some time.

    It integrates LuaJIT for faster turns. This version of the patch works on all operating systems MPPatch supports. It (at least when it's stable), should obsolete the LuaJIT patch, MPMPM and modpacks.

    The patch is not yet 100% stable, and there's probably still many undiscovered bugs remaining. Consider this version a prerelease.

    Download latest version (v0.1.2)

    For installation and usage instructions, read the user guide. If you have a bug, incompatibility or other issue to report, please make a post in this thread, or create an issue. You can find the source code here.

    Spoiler Known Issues :
    • Some mods incorrectly set AffectsSaveGame to 0 when they define civilizations, etc. You cannot properly resume modded multiplayer games from saved games for these mods.
    • Sometimes when a user joins a modded lobby, custom civilizations will show as an "Unknown Leader". This can be worked around by having the users who show as an unknown leader changing their leader to another leader and back, or having the affected user leave and rejoin the lobby.
    • On Linux, sometimes the process doesn't properly exit when you quit the process. If this happens, you can kill the process by issuing a "killall -9 Civ5XP.orig" command. This appears to be a bug in the original game.
    Spoiler Mod Compatibility :
    Any mod incompatible with MPMPM will almost certainly remain incompatible with MPPatch. See that list here.

    Beyonds that, I'm not aware of any further incompatibilities currently.
    Spoiler Changelog :
    Release 0.1.2
    • Fixes an issue that caused MPPatch to not load on Ubuntu.
    Release 0.1.1
    • Fixes an issue that caused MPPatch to not load on Windows 7.
    Release 0.1.0
    • Initial release.
    Spoiler FAQ :
    How do I ensure my mod is compatible with MPPatch?
    First of all, MPPatch can't make any mod that isn't compatible with MPMPM and conventional modpacks suddenly work in multiplayer. That is to say, everything should be as deterministic as possible to avoid desyncs, and so forth.

    Beyond that, see this document for considerations specific to MPPatch. These cases should (almost never) happen, but they are documented just in case.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
    Electric_Gamers likes this.
  2. LymiaAluysia

    LymiaAluysia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Fairyland
    Reserved.
     
  3. LymiaAluysia

    LymiaAluysia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Fairyland
    Reserved.
     
  4. SMGJohn

    SMGJohn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Why in GODS name is it that no one has commented on this? This is amazing, I will see if it works tomorrow, my God if it does so tired of JdH's Civ V Mod Manager not supporting SQL files.
     
  5. UnderPL

    UnderPL Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    This is great, will test asp
     
  6. NikMuazHakim

    NikMuazHakim Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I hope you come back to complete this hidden gem. It's rough, but polish it and you'll get value
     
  7. Carlos Augusto Marcovicz

    Carlos Augusto Marcovicz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it possible to play scenarios at multiplayer with this, or at least transfer scenario parameters to the multiplayer with it? I would really like to play a map with pre-placed cities, territory and religions at multiplayer (one of my creation), but i'm not sure if it is possible.
     
  8. Electric_Gamers

    Electric_Gamers Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    Oh My God! This totally works! Been Looking for something like this for a long time since JhD's does not work with my custom mod! Thanks!
     
  9. ClintWestfield

    ClintWestfield Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    This Seems super cool, however when I use the installer, (v0.1.2) I get an error message whenever I launch Civ5. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  10. Cyspha

    Cyspha Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    It's an issue with the new launcher, you have to use the old legacy launcher. To get it, do this:

    • Open up Steam and navigate to your LIBRARY.
    • Right click on the game in your library and choose "Properties."
    • Selected the "BETAS" tab.
    • In the text box to "Enter beta access for to unlock private beta:" enter the password "ineedlegacyaccess".
    • Click on the "CHECK CODE" button.
    • You should see a confirmation message that access has been granted.
    • If not already selected in the drop down, select "legacy" and click close.
    • Steam may require you to download and update for the game. Wait for this to happen or force it using "LIBRARY -> DOWNLOADS".
    • Once the game has been updated, click "PLAY" as usual and you will be running the legacy branch.
     
    Giffica and jwfoo555 like this.
  11. SilentSkye

    SilentSkye Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Has anyone experienced an issue where your civ/cities lose their Unique buildings after a resync happens? I just played a modded MP game a few hours ago and a couple of us were losing our UB because of this.

    We did load a saved game after someone's monitor died 5 turns into the game.
     
  12. LittleMissJunko

    LittleMissJunko Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Okay, I'm having some trouble... When I select mods, it goes through the process just fine. Then on the menu, I click Multiplayer. But then it say "Configuring Game Data" and then kicks me back to the menu. Any idea why?
     
  13. Luminarch

    Luminarch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    MD, the State of Civ V
    So I've installed this and used this for a successful game of Civ V Modded Multiplayer with a friend, but I have another game with another friend with the Takmod, would this "break" that game? By which I mean causing problems to occur?
     

Share This Page