1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

My thoughts on CEP and some possible errors

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by timbuktu, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. stackpointer

    stackpointer King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    809
    Sistine Chapel should be fixed in the next release.
     
  2. timbuktu

    timbuktu Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Warszawa
    I'd like to ask and inform some issue
    1) Units I got from swedish trait Allotment can be update one time for free. Next updates are fully paid already. Another bug?
    2) And what does "line unit" mean in description of the trait? Perhaps, it gives one units from each class e.g. soldier, mounted, siege, recon ship, etc.?
    3) Polish Winged Hussar seems to not have +50% bonus attack against Dragoon.
    4) What are penalties to yielding for puppeted cities? I couldn' figure it out from city panel.
     
  3. EricB

    EricB Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Michigan
    The Swedish trait is supposed to give 1 free unit for every new one you research. It's being fixed. Haven't looked into the Polish issue as I don't think the mod alters Poland at all.
     
  4. timbuktu

    timbuktu Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Warszawa
    Polish issue: I take my dragoon and attack a hussar and this defending unit doesn't have bonus to the attacker in damage calculation. I might misunderstand the concept of hussar's bonus because I think it has effect while attacking and defending as well. I'm right or wrong?

    In general, AI commands ranged units very poor, it keeps them moving instead of attacking the invaders. AI is unable to manage defending city with ranged units, actually only cities and direct fighting units deal damages to my advancing units. I guess You guys know about it very well, writing this just by the way.
     
  5. stackpointer

    stackpointer King

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    809
    I haven't had the chance to play a full military game recently. Have you noticed that the AI's military performance is lower than the vanilla AI's military performance? I'm not sure whether or not it's possible to modify the AI military's performance without a DLL mod but it's definitely possible that we have hurt the AI's tactical performance in some way.
     
  6. EricB

    EricB Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Michigan
    One thing the AI is terrible at militarily is protecting their units. They consistently expose themselves to counterattacks. They plan poorly. If I'm going to move a unit to a tile to attack, then I evaluate whether my unit can withstand the coming counterattack. If it can't, then I hold back and don't attack but instead tell the unit to heal. Usually I only attack with units that are at or near full strength. The object of the game is to not lose any units and eliminate the enemy units. There's probably not much we can do about this.
     
  7. ExpiredReign

    ExpiredReign Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,450
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tasmania
    I noticed a marked improvement with the AI after the 'Fall patch'. I haven't seen any evidence that we have screwed it up with our tweaks.
     
  8. timbuktu

    timbuktu Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Warszawa
    I feel like AI's ranged units conduct attack only when targets stand in the same title for 1 turn. In a few games ago I successfully conquered AI's civ. that probably had figured out my intension and was well prepared. At the war starting it has gatling gun in greater number than my attacking dragoons, lancers and siege unites combined. I had expected that the fighting would be tough to win but these gatling gun units did almost nothing. They moved around and they had many chances to destroy some of my units if only they moved title forward and attacked, or just stay in strategic titles and wait for enemy coming.
    In the rest of recent games my army usually outranks defending forces so it's hard to evaluate AI's actions but it's still clear for me that something is wrong with ranged units. They don't attack when an enemy units has just come to fire range.
    I haven't played a lot in Vanilla, and it was long time ago, but I would agree with ExpiredReign that Ai is generally better and this problem is vanilla's thing so might be hard to improve.
     
  9. EricB

    EricB Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Michigan
    It's a core game design issue and there isn't much that modders can do about it short of a DLL mod. Coding AI is extremely difficult as it's difficult to put into code how humans think, especially with such a complex game like Civ 5.
     
  10. timbuktu

    timbuktu Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Warszawa
    @EricB I agree, IMO if we can't teach AI to plan smart so we should give AI more units to disposition, I remember AI used to have a lot more units in patches from 1 or 2 years ago, we might come back to this situation. Futhermore, if the ranged units issue is impossible to improve, so the solution is reduce AI's priority to make them.
     

Share This Page