Need help with being a warmonger

OYAKATASAMA

Chieftain
This is my first post on these forums and this is going to be kinda long, but I'll try to split it up as much as I can.

I recently started playing with 22 civs on Emperor/standard speed and I am struggling to get to get a first 100 turns that I am satisfied with. I want to do some camel warmongering as Arabia while also getting my own religion. I'm also trying to break my addiction to making wonders. I especially like making the Temple of Artemis or Mausoleum of Halicarnassus(if I have 2+ stone/marble).

Social Policies: I've tried tradition, liberty, trad+piety, and lib+piety. I've read around here that liberty is generally better for warmongering, but I always feel so weak when I take it, just because there are so few spots to settle nearby and it feels like the AI beats me to those spots even with the free settler. Piety doesn't seem to be worth it at all at the start.

Tactics: I often somewhat near another civ's capital (10-15 tiles). Sometimes they have a really nice capital too, like a triple salt quadra deer Greece. There were 3-4 open spots that archers could hit from and it was not on a hill. Should I be beelining construction and rushing comp bows, using chariot archers(so I can upgrade them later), or just using archers so I can grab it as early as possible? Also should I refrain from taking his capital if he hasn't expanded yet to avoid the genocide penalty for wiping out a civ? I especially have difficulty with this part, because I have no clue when I should start being offensive.

Expanding: It seems like someone gets their settler out a few turns before me and grabs a spot I want or part of the spot I want. Should I be forcing out a settler before I hit 5 pop in my cap? Or should I be making a military, razing the city, and placing my own afterwards?