needed: tips for going wide

Chomes99

Chieftain
I just started playing with large maps, and I find them quite fun, but I obviously want to pre-empt any civ running away with too many cities, so I figure I would need to go wide in order to have a chance.

I am playing Terra/emperor/epic/large/raging barbs. current new game with France.

Liberty is obvious, but are they any other consideration anyone can offer? my usual style is to go tall, and war monger and puppet, but I want to actually develop a large empire peacefully if possible. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for that, but I think I would like my cities to be more than 3 or 4 pop as per the ICS guide.

Thanks for that, but I think I would like my cities to be more than 3 or 4 pop as per the ICS guide.

I find it slightly impossible to do unless you have 5-6 refined cities or unable to growing wide anymore.

Your constraint is happiness.

Obviously, you will need lots of luxuries and mercantile city state allies. Still, you will quickly run out of happiness.

To remedy this, you need religion. The best religion you could get would be Ceremonial burial, with +2 happiness from temples/+1 from shrines (for puppets), pagodas/mosques (for your cities), and one of the enhancers that speed up spread (itinerent/texts). Then you can knock down the happy cost for new cities from 4 to 3, 2, or 1. taking Order will give you that 1 missing happiness.

The problem then is that each new citizen will add 1 unhappiness. Imagine 5 cities adding 1 citizen = 5 unhappiness. Now think about how quickly cities hit 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 pop when they have fish, wheat, salt, etc. That -5 unhappiness will happen every 15 turns or so. For this reason, ICS can't really get bigger than 3 or 4 without major happiness problems.

If you don't want to stick to small cities, then you'll need a mod to turn off happiness, I guess.