New to Civ5 but not to Civ in general, need some advice.

Blasph23

Terraformation Junkie
Hey guys,

This is a wall of text; consider yourself warned.
I've recently started playing civ 5 with all the DLCs and I think I'm going to like it. I do so far at least. In the past, I tried civ 3 and 4 but somehow they never caught my attention long enough and I always returned to civ 2 which is my favorite. For all intents and purposes, I have no knowledge of game mechanics typical for 3 and 4.

I realize that 15 years that separate civ 2 and 5 is a lot but I intend to learn the new game soon enough.

There's a couple of issues however, most of them stem out of how I played civ 2.
I liked stuff like ship chains, caravan rehoming, super city science, trade bonuses, tech gifting+map trade for early conquest etc., things that weren't so obvious to new players but ultimately proved to be essential to anybody willing to achieve great results. I have no intention of competing against other players or jumping to the top difficulty levels just yet, I'm mostly interested in just playing the game.

I have always preferred the technological superiority approach and this is where my questions start. I'm playing either epic or marathon games as I like the prolonged games; nothing kills the fun for me like speedruns, at least for strategy games.

1) Does civ 5 have some kind of a list that has all the neat tricks and more or less abusive methods of playing? Civ 2 had a lot of this stuff so I have to wonder. There was the unsinkable trireme trick, there was ship chain trick that allowed you to deliver vans to distant lands in a single turn, wonder bread trick, incremental partial rush buy, emissary ploy and so on and so on. I hope there are some civ 2 players playing civ 5 here too so those terms will sound familiar ;)