Maat

Chieftain
I’m relatively new to the game I build in random places never really plan anything or know that districts you build can give points to a certain tile is there a way to better understand these things?

I am going relatively great and leading on prince difficulty, any suggestions would help

I was in the same shoes like you when the game was released back in '16. And only started to play on higher difficulties lately. I still miss a lot of important knowledge, but what helped me a lot was checking out some youtube videos, how people with knowledge are playing. I recommend checking out PotatoMcWhiskey's channel on youtube. He's explaining his moves why he does what he's doing and also has some good tutorial videos about the fundamentals of the game.

What I also highly recommend is using the Civilopedia in-game while you are playing. Let's say you want to build a campus, but you are not sure where is it the best to place, you just search for campus and you can check the bonuses.

Also there are some good threads on this forum as well :)

And here's a general tip I think every new player should learn as soon as possible. When the game loads and you see the first couple of tiles you can already start to plan what and where you are going to build. And also have a plan which victory you are going for. Everything can change as the game goes on so many times you have to adapt the situation you are in.

Just use the advisor in-game. Personally I checked out the lenses and looked up a lot in the civilopedia when I started. The civilopedia isn't the greatest but gives you a good idea nevertheless.
Maybe turning on yields for the first game(s) might be helpful, too.
For district placement understanding adjacency is vital IMO.

I’m relatively new to the game I build in random places never really plan anything or know that districts you build can give points to a certain tile is there a way to better understand these things?