1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Nexus Buddy 2 - Granny Editor for Civ 5 2.5.3

3D Graphics Tool for Civilization 5 and Beyond Earth

  1. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    Will include loadFromRemoteSources = true in the release config. I thought I already had but it must have been overwritten at some point.
     
    AzraelZephyrian likes this.
  2. AzraelZephyrian

    AzraelZephyrian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Awesome.

    While I've got your attention, would you mind taking a look at my most recent post in the civ 5 C&C forum regarding mesh export problems? I've made rather a lot of posts, so I would understand if you'd rather not.
     
  3. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    Which post do you mean?
     
  4. AzraelZephyrian

    AzraelZephyrian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Sorry, you just wrote an answer there. Thanks!
     
  5. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
  6. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
  7. squizzle7

    squizzle7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Yo, I downloaded Nexus Buddy 2 and was able to extract the UnitModels.fpk file from my Civ 5 assets folder and get all the .gr2,but when I load them into Nexus no mesh names or materials show up. When I try to view the model it just appears as a gray screen. I have saved them and that doesn't help at all, I have tried to export it as NB2 but just get an error. Is there any way I could change the directory? Maybe that is the problem?
     
  8. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    You need to use Load String Database to load the relevant *.gsd file BEFORE opening/resaving thr .gr2 files.
     
  9. squizzle7

    squizzle7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    where would I find the .gsd, im using Dragon UnPACKER and I don't see results of .gsd when I unpack the .fpk
     
  10. squizzle7

    squizzle7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    nevermind I found it ! Y AY
     
    Deliverator likes this.
  11. Duva

    Duva Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    @Deliverator i have the same problem can you help me
     
  12. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    What problem exactly? You can't load the string database .gsd file?
     
  13. Duva

    Duva Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3

    İ have this error when i exporting



    Bu iletişim kutusu yerine JIT hata ayıklamayı çağırma
    hakkında detaylı bilgi için bu iletinin sonuna bakın.

    ************** Özel Durum Metni **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Nesne başvurusu bir nesnenin örneğine ayarlanmadı.
    konum: NexusBuddy.FileOps.NB2Exporter.getBoneIdForBoneName(BiLookup`2 boneLookup, Dictionary`2 boneNameToPositionMap, String boneName, Single boneWeight, Single[] vertexPosition) D:\mod\gitprojects\Nexus-Buddy-2\NexusBuddy\NexusBuddy\FileOps\NB2Exporter.cs içinde: satır 484
    konum: NexusBuddy.FileOps.NB2Exporter.exportNB2Model(IGrannyFile grannyFile, Int32 modelId) D:\mod\gitprojects\Nexus-Buddy-2\NexusBuddy\NexusBuddy\FileOps\NB2Exporter.cs içinde: satır 315
    konum: NexusBuddy.FileOps.NB2Exporter.exportAllModelsToNB2(IGrannyFile grannyFile) D:\mod\gitprojects\Nexus-Buddy-2\NexusBuddy\NexusBuddy\FileOps\NB2Exporter.cs içinde: satır 50
    konum: NexusBuddy.NexusBuddyApplicationForm.exportNB2ButtonClick(Object sender, EventArgs e) D:\mod\gitprojects\Nexus-Buddy-2\NexusBuddy\NexusBuddy\NexusBuddyApplicationForm.cs içinde: satır 1721
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    konum: System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Yüklü Derlemeler **************
    mscorlib
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.34014 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    NexusBuddy2
    Derleme Sürümü: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 0.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/duva01/Desktop/Nexus-Buddy-2_Release-2.5.3/Nexus-Buddy-2/NexusBuddy2.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.34003 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Firaxis.Framework.Granny
    Derleme Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/duva01/Desktop/Nexus-Buddy-2_Release-2.5.3/Nexus-Buddy-2/Firaxis.Framework.Granny.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Firaxis.Framework
    Derleme Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/duva01/Desktop/Nexus-Buddy-2_Release-2.5.3/Nexus-Buddy-2/Firaxis.Framework.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    mscorlib.resources
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/mscorlib.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_tr_b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.resources.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms.resources
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_tr_b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.resources.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.DirectoryServices
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.DirectoryServices/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.DirectoryServices.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.DirectoryServices.resources
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.DirectoryServices.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_tr_b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.DirectoryServices.resources.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Firaxis.Framework.Granny.ImplWin32
    Derleme Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü:
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/duva01/Desktop/Nexus-Buddy-2_Release-2.5.3/Nexus-Buddy-2/Firaxis.Framework.Granny.ImplWin32.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    Firaxis.Framework.FirePlace
    Derleme Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/duva01/Desktop/Nexus-Buddy-2_Release-2.5.3/Nexus-Buddy-2/Firaxis.Framework.FirePlace.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    msvcm90
    Derleme Sürümü: 9.0.30729.8387
    Win32 Sürümü: 9.00.30729.8387
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/WinSxS/x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.8387_none_5094ca96bcb6b2bb/msvcm90.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.resources
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_tr_b77a5c561934e089/System.resources.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    PresentationCore
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.34004 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_32/PresentationCore/v4.0_4.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/PresentationCore.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    WindowsBase
    Derleme Sürümü: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Sürümü: 4.0.30319.34004 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/WindowsBase/v4.0_4.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/WindowsBase.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Hata Ayıklama **************
    JIT hata ayıklamayı etkinleştirmek için, bu uygulamanın veya
    bilgisayarın (machine.config) .config dosyasında
    system.windows.forms bölümünde jitDebugging değeri ayarlanmış olmalıdır.
    Ayrıca uygulama hata ayıklama etkin durumdayken derlenmiş
    olmalıdır.

    Örneğin:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    JIT hata ayıklama etkinken, işlenmemiş özel durumlar
    bu iletişim kutusunda işlenmek yerine bilgisayarda kayıtlı
    JIT hata ayıklayıcısına gönderilir.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    Nexus Buddy 2 only works for .gr2 files from Civilization V or Civilization Beyond Earth not other games. I think this file yellow_tigerman_lod_01.gr2 is not from a Civ game.
     
  15. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    OK, but where is this model from? You are trying to export to .nb2 format but if it's not from Civ 5 or Civ BE or a mod for those games it won't work.
     
  16. Duva

    Duva Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Okey sir i understand... but i need help to convert them can you help me
     
  17. Magarto

    Magarto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Hi Deliverator this model is from Metin2, Nexus Buddy seem to be the only soft to convert gr2 file to blender. As you say it doesn't work for other game, I'm currently working on c++ version of nexus buddy (based on the git hub sources file). The error come from ShaderSet, the metin2's models doesn't have shaderSet name.
     
  18. Emperor Franz

    Emperor Franz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    So I have been trying for the past several days to port a naval unit (Omaha-class CL to be exact) from CIV IV to CIV V. I have been following the tutorials you guys have put up as best I can and and currently trying to "Overwrite Meshes from BR2" but every time try to I get this message "Object Reference not set to an instance of an object." I am extremely new to all of this and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I've attached my files; "Omaha Test" is where I'm putting the edited files and "Omaha Original" contains the original files (obviously) with the exception of "Destroyer.kfm". I'd seriously appreciate if someone could help me

    Edit: I should note that the blend currently in use for me is "WIP.blend", I think I baked the textures correctly and I've made the most progress on this one IMO

    Edit 2: I think I figured out one of the problems: it didn't come with a skeleton
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 2, 2020
  19. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    Scripts have been updated so that Animations can be directly loaded into 2.7* version of Blender via NA2 format.

    Update 16.0
    * Animation import to 2.7* versions of Blender now working via the .na2 format. Actually the fix was a simple change to NB2 and CN6 import scripts. Many thanks to Magarto for finding this!

    This means animations from Civ V, Civ VI and Beyond Earth can loaded directly into Blender 2.7* versions for the first time.

    Will need to re-install and re-enable NB2/CN6 Import Addons for this to work.

    upload_2020-4-6_9-3-54.png
     
  20. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,737
    Location:
    London, UK
    Hi there, sorry about the slow response.

    As explained here, there are two ways of taking a Civ 4 unit graphic and bringing it into Civ 5:

    A) Take Civ 4 unit mesh and rig it to a Civ 5 skeleton so that Civ 5 animations are used.
    B) Do a full conversion converting the Civ 4 animations so that they work in Civ 4.

    A is preferable in most cases because the quality of the resulting unit will be better. The list of event codes for Civ 4 and Civ 5 do not match up perfectly, and the timings are different even where the events match up. Any unit that has animations converted from Civ 4 will effectively have gaps for some Civ 5 events where no equivalent Civ 4 animation exists.

    "Overwrite Meshes from BR2" works by keeping the current skeleton (armature) of the .gr2 model you have open intact and replacing the meshes. For this approach to work you will need to have rigged your imported mesh or meshes to the skeleton of the model you want to use a basis.

    I assume the tutorial you have been using is this one from Wolfdog.
    A few point about this guide as it is a little out of date (although there is no more comprehensive alternative sadly):
    * The Bake Texture process is no longer required as multi-mesh and multi-texture units are now supported by the BR2 format and Nexus Buddy 2. That whole section is a relic of past limitations. That's why the even older tutorial has NO LONGER NEEDED - MAKE A MULTIMESH UNIT INSTEAD all over the Bake section.
    * The key part is that you need to select an existing Civ 5 unit to rig your imported mesh to. Every mesh must be fully rigged (have vertex groups assigned to bones) to an armature for the Blender -> BR2 -> GR2 process to work.
    * It is actually no longer necessary to use "Overwrite Meshes from BR2" as the "Open BR2" button will directly convert BR2 -> GR2 without you needing to make a copy of the base .gr2 and opening it first.

    I hope this helps!
     

Share This Page