Post your best start

omglazers

Warlord
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
126
Location
Orlando, FL
Put pics of the best start you've had recently in a game. If you're playing a game now, go load the autosave for the initial map and show us your start.

I just read a thread on Gilgamesh so I decided to load up a game and try one as him. I need motivations to try new leaders.

And what do I see, but on a Terra map, this lovely gem.

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Hello COMMERCE capital of the world!

And just check out my region north.

I feel like if I don't win this game by a huge margin, I really must suck [monarch]
 

Attachments

  • greatstart.jpg
    greatstart.jpg
    172.8 KB · Views: 666
  • greatstart2.jpg
    greatstart2.jpg
    359.8 KB · Views: 663

joasoze

Warlord
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
209
Thats incredible - good luck to you (or maybe not as you dont really need it :o)
 

zinker

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
9
I hope the AI don't grab any of those wonderful sites.

why aren't my starting positions ever that good!?:cry:
 

hecubus

General Specific
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
267
Location
Philly-ish
I think this was a start on Warlord difficulty. Moved scout on the first turn, popped a goodie hut for a settler.


 

Jedoc

Warlord
Joined
Nov 8, 2005
Messages
157
Location
Norman, Oklahoma
Hmm. It looks like I don't have the autosave anymore, but a couple of weeks ago I had a start that included one pig tile, five floodplains, and four(!) gold mines. Just to make things a little more ridiculous, one of the remaining grassland tiles ended up containing iron.

I almost quit the game then and there, but I couldn't quite resist the temptation to found six religions and then sweep the the primitive world clean with my ecumenical tanks of diversity.

Edit: I forgot to mention that my settler started out on a riverside Plains Hill. So there wasn't even the slight disappointment of settling on a floodplain and killing the overlay.
 

jeffreyac

Mostly Harmless
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
631
Location
Florida, USA
"ecumenical tanks of diversity" - I think that's my new favorite phrase.... :)
 

Supr49er

2011 Thunderfall Cup
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
3,603
Location
Bear Flag Republic
What were your game settings omglazer? I don't usually see that many resources on an entire continent. :eek:
 

omglazers

Warlord
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
126
Location
Orlando, FL
What were your game settings omglazer? I don't usually see that many resources on an entire continent. :eek:

Normal game, Terra map.

Im going to take a picture of this continent later tonight.

It's..

It's stunning.

I've never seen so many resources in my life.

I've never been able to succeed on Monarch ever. I've even got Aggressive AI and Raging Barbs on but i'm just untouchable at this point.
 

TriPp

Chieftain
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
90
Location
Canada
Started 1NE of where i settled. I dont take alot of screens but i had thought i had pretty decent start in a game a few days ago and decided to take one.

Ofcourse it didnt take me long to relize that i screwed myself over my losing 3 hills(all my hills!!) for a 4th clam. Ah well, thats one incredibly noob move i learnt from. I just saw so much food i wasnt thinking striaght. Made me really wish i was a Financial civ with fishing...

Wish i had a screen of another game where i had 1gem, 2gold ,1silver(plains hill), 2fur(river plains) and grassland hill copper in my caps bfc(wont 4get that nice mix of luxury!). I was lucky enough to have the gems and copper 'pop' under a mine very early and only 5 or so turns apart. :)
 

Squarg

Awesomesauce
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
583
Location
I-Town, NY

+Rome FTW
 

Wlauzon

Prince
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
573
A long time ago I got a Warlords start with 11 within city range including stone marble, wine, and gems - but with BTS I have yet to get better than 5 or 6, and with 6 that nearly is always something like 4 ocean resources + corn and pigs or similar.
 

FeelGood

Emphatic Diplomat
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Messages
351
I can't never get these good starts. No matter how many times I regenerate, I always get less than premium start. I know, somebody think it's cheap to play with good start, at the very least, I want to try that. Must try again.
 

Rotting

Chieftain
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Messages
77
That's the best start I've seen and will ever see.

I agree. Never saw Gold AND Gems near Capital city. Had 5 Gems, 2 Ivory, one Corn, one Clams once with Friedrich in Warlordtimes. Never got anything better reg. Resources...
 

Sian

Emperor
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
1,676
does it count as a good start if it was one of the two Capitals i axed before they got archers on my last Marathon game?
 

Bandobras Took

Emperor
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,922
Location
Orem, UT
I don't have a screenshot, but as HC I started with good production capital, had stone and granite within walking distance, and there was a Floodplain-heavy area for my first settler.

I had to work hard not to get wonders, and I won a space race victory with a score more than double my nearest competitor's. :)
 

lordqarlyn

Warlord
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
220
Don't have that game anymore, but I had a start on a river, with a corn, cattle, and fish. Gold was in one of the hills, as I progressed, it turned out there was also iron and coal in the city square. Also as good, close, but not too close, were wheat, marble, two horses, clams, wine, sugar, all along the same river. Worked quickly to colonize those areas.
 
Top Bottom