1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Prechopping help

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by shpeka, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. shpeka

    shpeka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    In the past I was using the BAT and BUG mods, and currently the latest BUFFY.

    Somehwere along the way I lost the "Prechop forests" and "Prechop improvements" functionality. :(

    Which mod provides these?
     
  2. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,817
    I think the prechop option is part of BULL which is included in BAT and BUFFY. You need to add it to BUG. Check your BUG options in any of these mods as there is a place to check the feature on and off, so somehow it may have been deselected.
     
  3. Nick Carpathia

    Nick Carpathia Unleash the HAARP

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    Romania
    Wait, there's a pre-chop function in BUG? I've just been pressing backspace to clear the worker's queued order, and jumped back to that idle worked next turn by pressing enter.
     
  4. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,817
    Here you go:

    Spoiler :



    I'm pretty sure that this is a feature of BULL, which I have combined with BUG. BULL is included in BAT/BUFFY and prechops should be the default.

    "Prechop Improvements" option is basically the same thing but stops the worker 1 turn before completing an improvement that will clear a forest.
     
  5. shpeka

    shpeka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Damn, I've got these options cheked.

    I guess I should reinstall BUFFY. Or BtS if that doesn't work. :sad:
     
  6. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,817
    So you are using BUFFY. It should work by default. You could try clearing your cache. Hold the shift key down when loading BTS and see if it works.

    Also, make sure you don't have single player BUG installed in custom assets if running BUFFY. They can conflict, although I think the newer BUGs don't.

    On thought though - just curious - you say the option is check, but is it gray out or active?
     
  7. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,711
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    That option is definitely part of BULL. I am on a Mac, so I can't use BULL since it has a DLL. I use BUG and that option is greyed out.
     
  8. shpeka

    shpeka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    183


    Well, reinstalled BtS, patched to 3.19, then added BUFFY 3.19.
    To no avail. :cry:
     
  9. Mec AntiKythera

    Mec AntiKythera King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Hate it when that happens.
     
  10. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,817
    shpeka - here's a link to the BUG forum. They might be able to figure out the problem. It could be an assets problem. Try to find there assets checker tool.

    BUG Forum
     
  11. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,040
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    pre-chop is a BULL feature. You need BAT, BUFFY to use it (or any other mod that includes the right version of BULL). You can have it with BUG but you have to replace the default dll (Note: you will not be able to run mp games if you do that).
     
  12. shpeka

    shpeka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    We'll see. I might revert to BAT and see if this works. It is not too troubling ATM, since I am left with a bunch of forests in my last game. Either I am getting the hang of this game, or my BUFFY is buggy enough to drop the difficulty level. :lol:
     

Share This Page