PvPers thought on combat?

xMindTrickx

Chieftain
Civ5 is the first civ game I've played so I'm new to civ in general.

I absolutely love everything except the combat, Would like to hear what the pvpers think about it or got any tips for me.

What I don't like about the combat is that it's not really turn based, so it becomes who clicks first.
Fastest way to click is to que the action so it becomes done isntantly next turn.

Let me give an example of what happened to me;
I had my swordsmen close enough that next turn they could run up to other guys crossbowmen and kill them, I qued the attack order so it would be done isntantly next turn.

What he did was que his archer to retreat out of my reach and qued his cav to take archers tile.
Now my swordsmen standing there out of moves completely defenseless.

So what could I have done instead? I could of not qued the attack order and waited to see what he did but if he had qued his archers to attack me then my unit will be weaker now when I chose to attack.

So my conclusion so far is that combat is a guessing luck game, Although hoping some veteran might enlighten me since I'm still new to the game and still learning.

The only thing I have found to even out the bad combat slightly but not completely is being japanese in all of my games.

the combat in general is very good in multi compared to the :):):):) in civ with infinite stacking
the superior strategic impact of ranged units and cities is cool

for the problem you told i dont know exactly how it work, not sure its about speed

I have a similar problem. My brother and I play multiplayer. He has a top of the line custom built machine. I play on a decent laptop.

When a turn begins and we are at war, he has a 30sec advantage in play time where I am still loading the turn. He can effectively take out an army and leave me hanging out to dry.