1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Questions about playing this game on non-Windows OSes

Discussion in 'Alpha Centauri' started by Jarek Noschese, Apr 19, 2021.

  1. Jarek Noschese

    Jarek Noschese Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hancock Point, Maine
    My new MacBook (OS 10.14) just came in the mail this afternoon. It's the only other way that I know of to get this game working, although I haven't actually tried to do so (yet). If I wanted to play this game on a Linux OS instead, what's the highest Linux operating system that would be able to run the game? I only know that Mac OS X 10.14 is the highest for running SMAC/X. (Good thing too, because I now prefer anything other than Microsoft Windows [for now, that is] after realizing just how insecure the infamous Win32 protocol truly is.)

    Specs of the MacBook, in question...

    Obtainment Method: purchased from eBay (cost me $136)
    Screen Size: 13 inches, Aluminum-coated
    Year: late 2008 (I would've been in 4th grade, so 10 years old, then.)
    Hard Drive Space: 160 GB
    RAM: 4 GB, 1067 MHz DDR3
    CPU: 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Graphics: 256 MB Video RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9400M
    Condition: Refurbished/Useable
    Supported Removable Media Formats: CDs, DVDs and USB Drives
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2021
  2. Jarek Noschese

    Jarek Noschese Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hancock Point, Maine
    Update: Just got the game installed, but with an issue. Every time I make a selection, my cursor disappears. If I press a unit-related hotkey however, it shows up again. On the other hand, this only works if I'm focusing on the map exclusively. The cursor will disappear again as soon as I bring up any of the menus. Therefore, I can't tell what I'm trying to select unless it's highlighted. This makes navigating the menus aggravating; forcing me to use the old way of Command+Q in order to exit the game. Trust me. There's no way that I'm actually going to start a game with this problem. I was merely trying to disable and enable the preferences the way that I liked it. It's totally impossible now (or at least close to it) for me to navigate preferences with a ton of options for them. For example, I can neither adjust the sound volumes; nor the warning preferences due to this bug. However, I can (technically) goof around with the other preferences; even though it's much more difficult: and I refuse to revert back to playing this game on Microsoft Windows regardless. Help, please?!
     
  3. Jarek Noschese

    Jarek Noschese Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hancock Point, Maine
    Update: never mind. I just included "DirectDraw=0" in the .ini file for the game ["Alpha Centauri" section]. Once the game registered the change, the issue subsided.
     

Share This Page