Questions from a new Conquests player

scl004

Chieftain
Hi. I’m new to these forums, but I’ve been playing Civ III for about 6 months now. I just ordered Conquests, and I’ve got a couple of questions.

1) How exactly do I change the end date? I want the game to run indefinitely, so I’d like to set the end date to 10,000AD or so. I have heard this is possible through the editor which I haven’t played around with. If that is the case, how do I utilize the editor?
2) I like to cheat! I know most people don’t approve, but can any of you recommend a method for editing my civilization’s money supply in Conquests? Obviously the trade X for 33333333 gold per turn method will be out, so I need a new solution.

Thanks for the help!

ScL

PS: If this is not the appropriate forum or thread to ask these questions I apologize in advance.

Well someone here might now... but the creation and customization thread would have been better because basically you are changing it into a Mod.

one can change the game limits in each new game. there is a button/drop down [forget] that says "game limits", in there, one could raise the amount of turns.

Originally posted by scl004
I like to cheat! I know most people don’t approve,...

Why?Does it really satisfy you when you won by cheating?
How would you feel when you are playing against someone
else on the net and he or she is cheating?
Maybe you should go back to civ2.There's an cheat option.

I'm just wondering why you would want to cheat. To me, it has little to do with the satisfaction of winning and more to do with the enjoyment of playing the game.

Surely you can't be that awful that you can't compete on Chieftain? Heck, why don't you just go into the editor and give yourself accelerated production, a dozen settlers to start off, etc? Better yet, just create a scenario where your civ has cities on 90% of the map and everyone else only has one city. :p