I don't think so. You would need to be researching Philo for it to switch to something else (Republic), and you can't pop Philo unless you weren't researching it. If you had finished the AA except Republic and Philo, would it be possible?
Just happened to me recently. I had popped huts or researched all of the AA techs except Philosophy & The Republic, when I popped a hut and got Philospophy, then I had a tough choice between one of the MA techs and The Republic. I chose Feudalism and got Engineering for by bonus tech and then proceeded to research The Republic. I was already in Monarchy from an earlier switch and couldn't resist the free MA tech.
I wasn't able to find anymore huts before completing the research on Republic, so I'm not sure if I could have gotten it if I had been able to pop one.
I don't think so. You would need to be researching Philo for it to switch to something else (Republic), and you can't pop Philo unless you weren't researching it. If you had finished the AA except Republic and Philo, would it be possible?
Just happened to me recently. I had popped huts or researched all of the AA techs except Philosophy & The Republic, when I popped a hut and got Philospophy.....
I got no satisfying answer, so I did some testing. I'm not sure if it was conclusive, though; so I'd like to ask again, in case someone can confirm/trash my theory:
Turn order is Human - reverse order of AI players -Barbarians.
The reverse order applies to the setup screen, as well as the seedbeast extraction, and most important, from right to left on the F8 graphs
Yes, that's the second time I've popped a hut for a tech I was researching. The other was researching currency as the last AA tech and I popped a hut and got currency (and wasted 12 of 14 research turns)
Watch the replay. Human founds first. This part is not the question.
And, I don't know what you mean anyway - start a game, plop down your city, hit enter 10 times, and retire - all capitals expand in 3500BC. Human and AI.
I was under the impression that if you attack a size 1 city that it was automatically razed (assuming you win), although I never really paid that much attention -- I never raze cities if the option pops up. I recently found this is not the case (see images).
What determines whether a size 1 city is "liberated" or "destroyed"?
It will be autorazed if its borders haven't expanded (>= 10 culture), and if it is size 1. If it is size 1 or has more than 9 culture, it won't be autorazed.
PS: Since a city loses 1 pop when it is captured, a size 1 city would become a size 0 city if you could keep it. (I guess that's why they have the culture rule).
Yes, but at least it has culture... I don't know; I didn't program Civ3, Firaxis did. Rule of thumb: If it is size 1 with nine or less tiles inside the cultural boundries, it will be razed (unless it's under severe cultural pressure with over 10 culture, but that's rare..)
Well there would be....if the Wonder had been around long enough to expand the cultural border! (viz. >9 culture points)......Otherwise I think the Wonder ends up in the pile of ashes!
Here's a question: The AI doesn't pre-build wonder. Do they "bridge-build"? That is to say, you were building Newton's University, but someone beat you to it. You switch to palace while researching Economics, and then switch to Adam Smith's. Does the AI do that?
I don't think so, as that would still be considered prebuilding for a wonders. I've never seen it happen, but I have seen them 'cascade' to other available wonders.
If you had an army comprised totally of hidden nationality units, would the army be hidden?
on then same thought line, has anyone used their army to create a fleet and if so what about a pirate fleet?
fe3333au
Here's a good thread on C3C Armies. -An army only gains a special ability if all of the units in the army have that ability (e.g. an army of 2 marines and one rifle cannot make amphibious attacks)
Naval Fleets will hopefully be in CivIV.
Edit: I just read my link there again, and found a bunch of qualifiers. Like paratroop armies can't paradrop.
I was wondering about culture and captured wonders. In my last game playing on emporer, I had to capture most of the wonders from the first two eras. Some of them gave me culture points, some gave money, and some gave happiness. I would have guessed that they all gave at least culture per turn. What is the rule on this? Does it have to do with the wonder being obsolete? If it was mine to start with it would continue to give culture past being obsolete, right?
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.