1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Start 2016-12-06

Mainly for Modders

  1. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Mynex submitted a new resource:

    Quick Start - Mainly for Modders

    Read more about this resource...
     
    racha likes this.
  2. noisy

    noisy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    2 quick questions if i may (new here - fanatic civ player though)

    Removing Sean Bean's intro speech is really going to affect the loading time of a game or the time required to create a new game???

    If yes, is it possible to only do that instead of messing with the game core too much by removing logos and videos etc???

    Thanks in advance and sorry for my poor english
     
  3. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Removing Sean Bean's audio does NOT speed up game load time.
     
  4. weregamer

    weregamer Gandhi of the Mongols

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Yeah, I'd really like to see something that strictly speeds up the process from hitting "play" to getting into a game, and I have a fast internet connection so I doubt the 2K hookup matters to me either.

    Could you add instructions confirming my suspicion that I just need to replace the video file if all I want is to get rid of the silly logos?
     
  5. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    If you just replace the video file (the .bk2) one, then it does get rid of the company starting logo movies (Firaxis, My2K, and AMD).
     
  6. Mynex

    Mynex Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    287
  7. Cosmic Fox

    Cosmic Fox Civ 6 Addict - TB Mod Collaborator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    453
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yo bro thanks for making this, I can't stand Sean Bean, we went from incredibly great Spock, to him, come on he doesn't know what is going on in the game, whether he dies or not. hahahaha! :lol::thumbsup:
     
  8. Thierry Jacques

    Thierry Jacques Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I know this kinda comes a little late into this discussion, but here'a another improvement to start the game faster :

    You can modify the file Base\Assets\UI\FrontEnd\IntroScreen.lua to skip the 'Continue' button press at the start.

    Replace the

    Startup();

    at the very bottom of the file with

    --Startup();
    AcceptEULA();


    and it will skip the required button press after skipping the logos with the aforementioned method.

    Also- In the same folder, you can modify the MainMenu.lua file to have the main menu appear instantly. Change this value :

    local PAUSE_INCREMENT = 0;

    Finally, I don't know what was the exact impact of this next change I tried, but so far I kept it and the final results still makes the main menu pleasing to use while possibly faster :

    The file is MainMenu.xml (still in the same folder), and I changed each instance of 'Speed' to Speed="100", and each instance of 'Pause' to Pause="0".

    I am still looking for a way to modify files in order to completely skip the logos ans EULA, and will edit this post if I find the actual way :)
     
  9. ancho

    ancho Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Mac path:
    /Users/***YOU***/Library/Application Support/Steam/SteamApps/common/Sid Meier's Civilization VI/Civ6.app/Contents/Assets/Base/Assets/UI
     
  10. raen

    raen Coat of Arms

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Portugal
    Even if you loose the originals, with steam you can recover files, steam replaces all with original doing this :)
     
  11. Moginheden

    Moginheden Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    I thought I would be able to improve this "mod" by making it an actual mod so it doesn't need to be reinstalled every time the game updates. I tried creating a file called Quickstart.modinfo in a DLC\Quickstart folder and copied all your files into it. Here's what I'd expect would work, but it doesn't seem to. Am I doing something wrong, or do mods just not activate before you load a game?

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <Mod id="a4c1bd67-0a5c-4541-9a40-75e32168ab10" version="1">
      <Properties>
        <Name>Quickstart</Name>
        <Description>Speeds up game launch.</Description>
        <Teaser>Quickstart speeds up game launch</Teaser>
        <Authors>Mynex, Moginheden</Authors>
        <SpecialThanks>The Civfanatics forums and the Civ fans on Reddit.</SpecialThanks>
        <AffectsSavedGames>0</AffectsSavedGames>
        <CompatibleVersions>1.2,2.0</CompatibleVersions>
      </Properties>
      <Files>
        <File>Assets\UI\FiraxisLive\My2K.lua</File>
        <File>Assets\UI\FrontEnd\LoadScreen.lua</File>
        <File>Assets\UI\FrontEnd\MainMenu.lua</File>
        <File>Assets\UI\FrontEnd\MainMenu.xml</File>
        <File>Platforms\Windows\Movies\logos.bk2</File>
      </Files>
      <Components>
        <ImportFiles id="ModQuickstartImportSettings">
          <Properties>
            <LoadOrder>500</LoadOrder>
          </Properties>
          <Items>
              <File>Assets\UI\FiraxisLive\My2K.lua</File>
              <File>Assets\UI\FrontEnd\LoadScreen.lua</File>
              <File>Assets\UI\FrontEnd\MainMenu.lua</File>
              <File>Assets\UI\FrontEnd\MainMenu.xml</File>
              <File>Platforms\Windows\Movies\logos.bk2</File>
          </Items>
        </ImportFiles>
      </Components>
    </Mod>
    
     
  12. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,782
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
  13. Moginheden

    Moginheden Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Ok that one works. Still not sure what I did wrong though. Oh well.
     

Share This Page