1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RoM optimized

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by ADP101, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. ADP101

    ADP101 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Hey i recently started playing RoM, and it is an AMAZING MOD!! For the first time, im in the 1800s WHILE in the industrial age not the modern! thats awsome lol.

    But when i get to around 1800 the time it takes for me to get to the next turn is 1-3 minutes. is that me or is that a bit to much time :confused:

    i have 3 gigs of ram, pentium 4 processor, and ati x300 graphics card, which are are above recommended things to have i think, how can i make RoM faster?
     
  2. Zeppelin123

    Zeppelin123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    It's an old problem with all the civ games. Once you get into the later stages of the game there's a lot more info that needs to be calculated so the game starts to slow down a lot. There really isn't much that you can do about it except play on smaller maps with less civilizations.

    PS. If it's running this slowly now you may start experiancing some crashes due to not having enough RAM if your on the maps that are larger than huge.
     
  3. Wessel V1

    Wessel V1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,443
    Location:
    Hamlet south of Amsterdam
    There is a thread in the RFC forum: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=286521

    It reduces loading times with 50%. In every python file import pickle has been replaced by import cPickle as pickle. For some reason that works. All credits go to musicfreak!!
     
  4. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    @Wessel V1

    Thanks for good tip, already added it to next RoM version. :) If anyone else know other optimization tips, let me know. ;)
     
  5. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    zappara,

    Any chance that 2.3 could have an optimization patch?

    Please?!

    JosEPh :)
     
  6. supermatt

    supermatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    You can really do these optimizations yourself.
    Simply go to your python folder, and search for the phrase "import pickle"
    and change that phrase into "import cPickle as pickle".

    Thats it. If I recall it right it was only 3 or 4 files that had the phrase in them. Anyhow its nothing special, but you notice the difference. In midgame the time to do my turn changed from 18 seconds to 14 seconds. Just by changing that line.
     
  7. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I actually went into the BtS Python files and RoM Python files and any .py file that had an "import" section I added the line: import cPickle as pickle.

    My RoM2.3 game that is in the late 1700's did process each turn better. I was also experiencing *lag* when giving Privateer's and Frigates orders or when scrolling around the map. This cut the lag down but did not eliminate it totally. Still not being a Modder (for this game anyway) of python or XML it has helped.

    I'm hopeing to get musicfreak to respond to which BtS files are the most critical for this "Fix".

    And I was asking zappara because he knows this Mods inner working far better than I ever will.

    JosEPh
     
  8. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Update: musicfreak said it was only needed in Python files that use pickle.

    I've put the line in the core CIV IV/ BtS/ Rom python files that had an import section. I wouldn't know how to find pickle in any of those files. So I just covered all bases. Seems CiV IV core never used pickle so that was a wasted effort there. I'll go back and remove those.

    Now Zappara, which RoM2.3 python files use pickle? You should hopefully know.

    JosEPh
     
  9. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    There's about half dozen python files that use pickle functions, most of the files are part of the Revolution mod component. I use program called 'Windows GREP' when I want to find certain strings from bunch of files - with it, it was easy to locate all those "import pickle" lines and replace them with optimized lines.
     
  10. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Is "Windows GREP" a free program?

    Guess I need to Google it.

    And since I don't use the Rev Mod that should narrow down the files abit.

    I tried the Rev Mod by itsself awhile back and I found it too hard for my style of play. I'm sure it's a good mod and all but I just didn't like it or it's feel. Pop revolts Way too easy and for way too many reasons for my taste. A scaled down version I could learn to handle I suppose.

    So anyway, if we want to use the "pickle" we need to do it on our own then. No patch with it incorporated then,........okay. :/

    JosEPh
     

Share This Page