ROP reputation

stormbind

Retenta personam!
Joined
Feb 1, 2003
Messages
14,081
Location
London
So there I was, commanding the English in this month's GOTM. We enjoyed ROP with France, well... ROP with everyone.

Events..
1. English units are deployed on a French island.
2. The ROP with France expires naturally after 20 turns.
3. France tells us to sod off!

So we have a war. Now I have a bad reputation. What did I do wrong? :undecide:
 
Bartleby said:
You didn't move your troops out of their territory before declaring war.
That's because it was half way around the world and it took almost 20 turns to deploy there ;)
 
Whether you have a RoP or not, if your units are in your enemy's territory when you declare war, or if you move your units into enemy territory on the same turn in which you declared war, the computer views it as a RoP-rape and you take a rep hit.
 
Ah. Thanks.
 
Satchel - Are you sure about the same turn after declaring? I do this often, and don't recall much in the way of Rep hit.
 
Thirded. As long as you declare war on the diplomatic screen before actually attacking anything or moving into enemy territory, you're fine.

Renata
 
Quatro,

If you're free and clear of the space owned by your adversary when you declare them scum then you're in the clear of being guilty of RoP rape.

However, you will earn some negative brownie points from all the other AI's for declaring no matter what. There are some good posts out there to help calculate the AI's modd towards you and how your actions can influence it.
 
I can certainly imagine that I was wrong about declaring and invading the same turn. It's possible that as long as your units are not in enemy lands when you declare, you can invade that same turn.

I'm racking my brains trying to think of where I got the idea. It must have been something I read on these fora lo these many moons ago. It may have been something I read and misunderstood, or something I read that was just wrong. At any rate, I apologize for spreading misinformation.
 
Actually, that sounds familiar. I remember when I first started playing that the saying went you get a rep hit if you declare and invade on the same turn. It could be that a patch solved this, or it could be that we really didn't understand how the game played. As I recall, this was a couple of months after the game came out. And sadly, the forum I heard it on is now defunct.
 
So, let's say that I have a unit on a border tile in my territory, and on an adjacent tile, but across the boundary, there's an AI unit. I attack the unit, thus starting a war. Do I get the rep hit?

Dang, that's an esoteric question. I apologize even as I send it out...
 
Yes, because it's a sneak attack. If you declare war first, then attack, you're fine.

So always declare war first.
 
michael4000 said:
So, let's say that I have a unit on a border tile in my territory, and on an adjacent tile, but across the boundary, there's an AI unit. I attack the unit, thus starting a war. Do I get the rep hit?

Dang, that's an esoteric question. I apologize even as I send it out...

Not so esoteric... I asked the same question in "quick answers" only about a week ago. I got the same answer.
 
Turner_727 said:
Actually, that sounds familiar. I remember when I first started playing that the saying went you get a rep hit if you declare and invade on the same turn. It could be that a patch solved this, or it could be that we really didn't understand how the game played. As I recall, this was a couple of months after the game came out. And sadly, the forum I heard it on is now defunct.
I believe you're right, Turner. I spent several months under the impression that declaring and invading on the same turn was a no-no. Discovered I was mistaken quite by accident. I'm pretty sure that either this misinformation was on the forum for a while or that it was changed in one of the early patches.
 
Turner_727 said:
So always declare war first.

I'm glad I asked! I played a quick game this weekend, putting this wisdom to work, and it was much easier keeping good relations with Civs A, B, and C while thumping on Civ D. Don't know how I went so long without figuring this rule out -- until now, I've always "declared war" by launching the attack.
 
Back
Top Bottom