1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Share Your First BNW Experiences Here

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Lorf Yimzo, Jul 8, 2013.

  1. Lorf Yimzo

    Lorf Yimzo Atheist

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Empire of Colorado
    Just played as France and looked at every leader's screen, introduction, and reaction to DoW. Pedro and Casimir had the best reactions IMO. Also, one thing that I really like is the fact that when you're about to declare war, the game shows you who you will piss off and what CSs will go to war against you. Really nice.
     
  2. Mrdarklight

    Mrdarklight Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Uh... Wow. This might take some getting used to.



    Moderator Action: Merged this with First Experiences thread because we do not need a separate thread for every feature.
     
  3. Mrdarklight

    Mrdarklight Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    The Culture window is totally different. And I mean totally.
     
  4. brhlbryce

    brhlbryce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Shoshone music is deadly, popping your first goodie hut is quite enjoyable to take the culture bomb since your going to build pathfinders off the bat
     
  5. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    OMG!!!
    O
    M
    G

    BARBARIANS JUST ATTACKED MY CITY. THEY FINALLY DO THAT!!! WOOOOOW! YUUUUUS!!!
    I am so overjoyed. :D
     
  6. kingchris20

    kingchris20 Wisdom Seeker

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,343
    Location:
    Resident of Heaven; Currently in the Waiting Room
    The Shoshone are BEAST!! I went ahead and started immediately building a second pathfinder, and I bet I've found nearly 10 ruins within the first 30 turns! Very beneficial to use you first but of hammers to get a second pathfinder

    And yeah the barbs don't mess around, they come in and just start attacking your city!!
     
  7. Mrdarklight

    Mrdarklight Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Yeah, this seems like a wicked UA:



    ETA: Sorry I jacked up the width for you. Hopefully it was worth it. :)
     
  8. ptoss1

    ptoss1 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    They did that in my first game of GK. Never saw that happen again.
     
  9. brhlbryce

    brhlbryce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Shoshone goodie hut, I went
    Culture-Population-Tech

    seems to have reset and I can pick culture and religion now.

    I play marathon, still haven't finished first tech (AH) was given Mining for my free tech earlier.

    Damn Casimir seems to be only other one on my continent
     
  10. Stove

    Stove Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    So after 50 turns (promised myself I wouldn't go over tonight) as Assyria, I found Lake Victoria on Turn 3, have two cities up, met China, Brazil, and Arabia, made friends with Pedro, and am building my first siege tower while I decide that China will be the first green civ to die. After I take out China I hope to start setting up some trade routes.
     
  11. brhlbryce

    brhlbryce Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Pathfinder does keep its abilities when it upgrades. I waited and he upgraded to a Composite Bowman as id already teched Archery
     
  12. Talcove

    Talcove Slayer of Spies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Mississauga
    It was all going great. It seemed as if everyone on my landmass (Eurasia and Africa) was peaceful... Then I wandered into Africa and met Shaka. Well, time to build up that legion of mine.
     
  13. Higgy

    Higgy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Playing Poland vs. the other new civs, great so far, the new music is amazing but The Shoshone didn't explore ruins clearly visible from their borders, quite odd to me.
    (First post on cfc too)
     
  14. gunnergoz

    gunnergoz Cat Herder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
    So far, I learned that Venice is going to be a challenge to learn to do right, but it will be fun learning!

    Most impressed with improvements in the executable for the game. My GPU is running 3-5 degrees cooler than it was before, staying in the 60's for a change.

    And I already want some TSL world and Europe maps set up ASAP for BNW! Yesterday! :)
     
  15. MaDaZi

    MaDaZi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    None of the achieves are showing for me on steam.
     
  16. Distinct

    Distinct Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Shoeshine cities are really big, and really noticeable. On the first few (3?) ruins, there was no option to spawn a great prophet, but afterward there was. After a few ruins, you can pick the same option again.
     
  17. Vo01985

    Vo01985 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Allen, TX
    I have made a trade route with a city state civ, but I have now settled a few cities close to my capital, how do I change the trade route? I can't seem to do that?
     
  18. Mrdarklight

    Mrdarklight Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    In G&K you couldn't find a faith ruin before turn 20. So that's probably it.
     
  19. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,917
    well, venice can purchase tiles in puppets
     
  20. Vo01985

    Vo01985 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Allen, TX
    Hmm, it seems trade routes are only valid for a certain period of time and then they reset?
     

Share This Page