1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Short question about Submarines

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by onomastikon, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. onomastikon

    onomastikon Dual Wielding Banjos

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello, still plodding on in Emperor, havent had many games that last to late ages, still in Vanilla, have this question on subs:
    Are subs somehow "different" than other naval units? I built one or two, thinking that they would be somehow niftier, or at least attackable by only other subs, but it seems they can be sunk by anything. Unless I am missing something, I found them to be a bit dissapointing -- normal subs are everything that a destroyer is, only slower and crappier; why build them?
    Am I missing something?
     
  2. Fried Egg

    Fried Egg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Sub's have a sneak attack ability which allows them to pick which unit (in a stack of units) to attack as opposed to the stongest unit automatically being selected for defence.

    Destroyers and AEGIS cruisers can detect subs but other ships (such as battleships and transport ships) can't.
     
  3. Dreadnought

    Dreadnought Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,896
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    With subs you basically have to use them to attack transports, even guarded by ships. With the stealth Attack ability, you can pick out which unit to attack. Even if there is a battleship guarding a transport, you can choose to attack the transport.

    Hope that helps
     
  4. Tone

    Tone Chieftain Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Isn't the stealth attack only in C3C? In vanilla you just take on the most powerful defender first IIRC.

    I don't build them anymore and this goes back to my vanilla/PtW days when they would appear to lead to random declarations of war when AIs would bump into my subs and attack them. I guess that could be called a sneak attack but the AI doesn't do that with random land units so I always thought of it as a bug. Does this happen in Conquests? Are you guys saying that I should investigate these units again?
     
  5. onomastikon

    onomastikon Dual Wielding Banjos

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks -- I didnt notice this sneak attack (yet) in Vanilla.
    I did, however, get into a battle with a few AI ironclads and my sub was damaged badly, which I thought wouldnt be the case. I read in some utility spreadsheet somewhere that AEGIS cruisers can "see subs", but I dont know what that means in terms of game mechanics.
     
  6. Sybot

    Sybot Faceless Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    England
    The AI still bumps into random subs and declares war in C3C.

    The only use I've found in vanilla is using nuclear subs to deliver the cheaper tactical nuke to the enemy and I've only read about that, not actually used it. The subs seem just usless without the stealth attack they have in C3C and even then it doesn't matter about sinking transports since the AI sucks at sea invasions.
     
  7. Fried Egg

    Fried Egg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Subs can enter someone elses territorial waters without their notice (so they don't ask you to leave).
     
  8. Tone

    Tone Chieftain Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thinking about this some more, the AI must still know where subs are. If war is declared, surely they will seek and destroy any subs in vanilla the same way that any ship at sea is easily 'found' by the AI. It just like the way the AI knows where there are any gaps for their settlers, even if they have no maps of the target area!
     
  9. Tone

    Tone Chieftain Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks for that info. I guess that's good to know if you want an AI to declare on you-just leave a sub in its waters and hope that it is a home ship that hits your sub.
     
  10. Hassenpfeffer

    Hassenpfeffer Cobalt Thorium G Device!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Sasquatch Country
    I find that to be one of the most infuriating things about the game... I'm just sitting there peacefully with my sub, and the AI just tromps on over and declares war at the drop of a hat. Humph.
     
  11. VladTepes

    VladTepes Clown Prince of Wallachia

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452

    Sounds like the "AI vs. sub collision" bug. If they can't see the sub, they'll continue on the path, run into your sub, attack it, and suddenly you're at war!
     
  12. Tesuji

    Tesuji Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Ehh... I don't think I ever got around building a sub other than on the easiest levels.
     
  13. axehaxe

    axehaxe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    Wha...???????? There's a bug like that??? Cool, I'm going to have to try that! lol
     
  14. Breunor

    Breunor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    Its one of the worst remaining bugs.

    Breunor
     
  15. metalhead

    metalhead Angry Bartender

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,031
    I've been nuked a few times from AI nuclear subs in one game. It's the only time I've ever even seen one in a game.
     

Share This Page