1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Solver's Unofficial BtS Patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Solver, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. dutchking

    dutchking Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,317
    Maybe all three. I'm upset that they said before the release "there would be more ways to expand your empire in peaceful ways". Don't really see any... Build settlers faster? Wtf? I get tired of war after a long time.
     
  2. Big J Money

    Big J Money Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,022
    I can confirm this bug.

    There is also a bug I'd like everyone to keep an eye out for that breaks your commerce. It causes your income to not have any effect, so if you are +200 a turn, you will get nothing. Also, this same bug causes espionage missions to be performed for free.

    =$= Big J Money =$=
     
  3. Bhruic

    Bhruic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    Modified code to (hopefully) prevent auto-explore units from getting "stuck".
    From function:
    Code:
    bool CvUnitAI::AI_exploreRange(int iRange)
    replace:
    Code:
    iDirectionModifier += (50 * (abs(iDX) + abs(iDY))) / iSearchRange;
    with:
    Code:
    iDirectionModifier += (50 * ((iSearchRange - abs(iDX)) + (iSearchRange - abs(iDY)))) / iSearchRange;
    I think the iDirectionModifier was intended to prioritize closer plots, but ended up prioritizing plots farther away. So what would happen is the scout (or whatever unit) would move away from a close unexplored plot to explore one farther away, then next turn, decide that the plot that was originally closer needs to be explored because it's now farther away. This change should prioritize closer plots, which should "unstick" things. I verified that it fixed the "stick" of the explorer from this thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=234902

    Bh
     
  4. Wayland

    Wayland Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I want to thank you for fixing the Waiting For Opponents bug. I was hitting it every other game and was really killing the game for me.
     
  5. TheBladeRoden

    TheBladeRoden Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,257
    Location:
    The Middle West
  6. MusX

    MusX Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Poland
    does Blue Marble 3.0 on Multiplayer compatible with this Unofficial BtS Patch?
     
  7. Frimlin

    Frimlin Wandering Wizard

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Versailles, France.
    Hey Bhruic -- good insight! You might like to message Solver directly to make sure he sees these fixes. Keep up the great contributions. :)
     
  8. snipafist

    snipafist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    I've installed the patch properly, but it would appear that cities still suffer -12 to happiness or health from spy actions. Why is this? I replaced the .dll file and everything.
     
  9. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    I would think the HoFmod for BtS will include those fixes, doesn't it?
     
  10. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    It contains some of them... one crash fix and the speed improvement codes was added after the HOF mod was released (they are in the latest development code though)... the AI changes are not in the HOF mod however.
     
  11. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    any chance they will make the journey to the HOF mod?
    Or do we have to wait for an official patch?
     
  12. Solver

    Solver Civ4/5 beta tester

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,260
    Location:
    Latvia, Riga
    I'm back here... just looked through the reports. That Settler crash some of you are encountering is strange. I think I know where the negative inflation is coming from, the code allows it to happen, though it should be rare - will fix.

    EDIT: Hmm, perhaps those of you who are crashing are having the problem because of BlueMarble...
     
  13. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    Solver, regarding the points I was making about ships, will the AI use Galleons and Transports to help spread their missionaries, spies and executives overseas? (From the code it wouldn't seem so.)

    Or, are caravels and attack subs the only way this will happen? If so, then isn't there a large window where the AI won't do this as caravels get upgraded to frigates after all....
     
  14. Mockingbird

    Mockingbird Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello Solver and thanks very much for your work.

    I Started using your latest patch update over the weekend and it was causing the following rendering error then the game crashes to the desktop (is random, but happens when selecting a unit, not the same unit every time and sometimes the game will go on a couple of turns before the crash).

    ERROR: Gamebryo2.0\CoreLibs\Nidx9Render\Nidx9VB.cpp Line 1019

    Replaced the DLL with one of your earlier updates or the original DLL and the problem goes away. I think I'm using Blue Marble, but not the latest version.

    Anyway, I thought I'll let you know as it must be related to the last build you did.


    Again thanks very much for your efforts.
     
  15. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    I bet it is because of your hack workaround for the crash in exe file with city visibility :p
     
  16. DrJambo

    DrJambo Crash-test dummy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Athens of the North (Edinburgh)
    Is there any plans to alter the AI's use of corporations and the way that some of them spread them rather arbitrarily among all their cities (when they don't own the HQ). Or is that a 'wait for the official patch'?
     
  17. remko

    remko Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Haarlem/Netherlands
    1 does anyone know how you create a mod from this patch?

    2 can you play it on MP if my friend has the same patch?

    i hope someone can help me with these questions
     
  18. Horace

    Horace Likes to ski

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Leeds
    I asked that a bit earlier in the thread..
     
  19. remko

    remko Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Haarlem/Netherlands
    how do you know the patch is installed?
    can you check it somewere?
     
  20. Fredricko

    Fredricko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    On the settler crash bug: This was happening to me when I tried to start a Quick game but was fine on Normal and Epic, if that helps.
     

Share This Page