1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions about new units

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World War II 1939 Mod' started by asioasioasio, Mar 8, 2007.

  1. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    nice tiger's! :D
     
  2. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    I think it'll slow down game to much put different version for different fronts :(.
    I was thinking about it, but i don't find this possible :(
     
  3. MarshalAlex

    MarshalAlex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Yugoslavia/SFRJ/RIJEKA/SRH
    If you add yugoslavia you can put Yugoslav Partisans and JNA (Yugoslav Nacional Army or Jugoslovenska Narodna Armija), also you can add a Jet fighter calld Jastreb, MiG 21, an T-34 Tank,...
    And a weapons factory to build units faster calld "Zastava"
     
  4. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Jastreb, MiG 21 are cold war aircraft from late 50-70's - i think it's to late to put them to the mod
     
  5. MarshalAlex

    MarshalAlex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Yugoslavia/SFRJ/RIJEKA/SRH
    well i have some info about yugoslavia so il dig up somthing from wwII...
    BTW did you know that they used Spitfire fighter plane during ww2 (inported by english)! YAK-3 was also used in yugoslavia, and some planes from luftwaffe of croatian ustašas where stoald by partisans!
    il dig up some info leater... if you need info for yugoslavia ask me :)
     
  6. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
    I don´t mind if there new high-tech jets I have a F-35 in use here :D
     
  7. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
  8. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    I choosed this fighters for yugoslavia
    MORANE_SAULNIER_406
    MESSERSCHMITT_BF_109
    JAK_9
    HAWKER_HURRICANE
    SUPERMARINE_SPITFIRE
    P_80_SHOOTING_STAR
    F_86_SABRE

    we don't have bombers and tanks, tank destroyers chossed so i would be glad to hear your opinion about fighters and other units for yugoslavia. :)

    lol maybe they'll in phase 10 :) - no f-35, B-2, and all this kind of x-wings in phase 2 :p

    About navy - we don't want to make unique asap - it's for phase 3 - i need have guarantee that they won't be great lag after finishing phase two.
     
  9. MarshalAlex

    MarshalAlex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Yugoslavia/SFRJ/RIJEKA/SRH
  10. DarthCycle

    DarthCycle WWII Freako

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    My recommendation for new units would be a fortification unit type and a garrison unit type.

    I) Fortification

    The fortification unit would have no movement point and cost no maintenance. They cannot be built and would only serve as unit to use in scenario to recreate initial condition on front. Also, they cannot gain experience (or make them illegible for all promotions, which has the same result) or be upgraded. It should be a static unit.

    The advantage of this type of unit is simple: since it cannot be moved, the AI wouldn't be able to "mess" around with them.

    For example, in the 1939 scenario the maginot line is a set of terrain features: bunkers, trenches and the like. However in order to recreate this front the German and the French must have fortified units in these defensive terrain feature at all time. However, the AI is always moving its unit around and there is no such thing as the maginot line in the scenario right now.

    Create three type of fortication:
    1) Light fort = strength of infantry I
    2) Medium fort = strength of infantry II
    3) Heavy fort = strength of infantry III

    II) Garrison

    Basically, pretty much the same concept as the fortication unit however they can gain experience and promotions and can be built in cities.

    The advantage is the same as the fortification unit: since it cannot move, the AI cannot create some gaping hole in strategic locations on the map and it will serve as a cheap defender for cities.
     
  11. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Not a bad idea.... However I think you could do this with the creation of only 1 unit. The game has already got so many units and new civs (it will for phase 2) that its min. requirements and load times are going up rather quickly. We already looking to solutions to these, but we will probably try to only add necessary units.

    What I would suggest is just making Fortification unit. It would not be able to move, should have city bonus, start with City Defender I, maybe hills or forest bonus as well. It would be able to be built in any city, and its upgrades (Fortification II, III) and promotions should be in parallel with the infantry unit.

    To re-create the Maginot Line, simply pre-place them where they should be.

    Also to suppliment this I would add in the Maginot Line wonder.:)
     
  12. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
    B-29 nuke edition
     
  13. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Non-movable Garrison Infantry and B-29 nuke addition will appear in next update. :)
     
  14. Kyrion

    Kyrion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    i suggest replacing the panzer 38t with a panzer III, because the 38t was a czecoslovakian tank used by the germans, and the panzer III played a greater, more important role early in the war.
     
  15. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Still nobody made model of panzer iii :(
    I have other units high on the to do list - so i still have hope someone will make panzeriii
     
  16. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
  17. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
  18. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Works well for me - i'll check if i can find nay blueprints for this unit
     
  19. arithegreat

    arithegreat world ruler

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Finland
  20. asioasioasio

    asioasioasio Fallout Scrubber

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,058
    Location:
    Poland, EU
    Thank you :)
     

Share This Page