1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SVN Repository

Discussion in 'Civ4 - World 2009 Mod' started by NikNaks, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Our working files are stored on something known as an SVN Repository. For those unfamiliar with the software, you'll require something like Tortoise SVN (Windows) to utilize it. It is excellent for this sort of project, where live updates to the mod can be made easily and quickly.

    If you know what you're doing, the repo is stored on the following server:
    https://world2008mod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/world2008mod
    and you'll need to send me your SourceForge username if you want to commit anything.

    If you don't, never fear. Here's a brief tutorial:
    Spoiler :
    1. Download and install Tortoise SVN (only for Windows; those using other OS's should contact me - see below)
    2. Create a folder - this will be where your local copy is stored (I would recommend placing it in your Civ install directory under Beyond the Sword\Mods\World 2008)
    3. Right click on this folder and select SVN Checkout (you may need to restart if you haven't already after your Tortoise install)
    4. Type in the location of the server (see above) in the appropriate box
    5. Click OK and allow the files to download
    You've now got a local copy. You must keep your copy up to date. To do this, right click on the root folder (the one you created in 2. above) and choose SVN Update.
    In order that changes you make can be uploaded, you need to create an account at SourceForge and send me your username.
    Once you've done that and I've confirmed that you can now make changes, you can commit them by right-clicking on the root folder and choosing SVN Commit. You'll be presented with a screen that is pretty self-explanatory, but if you find any problems with it, just contact me.
    If you have any problems, either post here, send me a PM or come to our Jabber chatroom.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
  2. hevehoc

    hevehoc Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Sweden, Jämtland
    the "Tortoise SVN" link doesen't work.
     
  3. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Sorry, I mistyped it. It should work now. :goodjob:
     
  4. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    How much is in the mod at this point?
     
  5. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Also, the link is broken again.
     
  6. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    There's nothing wrong with the link here...

    We have several civs, leaders and a more-or-less complete tech tree.
     
  7. Krug

    Krug Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    !
    You could always just use Google like I did.
     
  8. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Okay, so it's working now, but the tech infos file is not opening. Please examine that.
     
  9. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry about that, I made some mistakes originally. The working tech tree is now available through the SVN.
     
  10. Krug

    Krug Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    !
    Hmmm, whenever I use SVN Checkout, it just says Invalid URL...and I'm sure I'm using the right information.
     
  11. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Techs still do not work for me. Something about XSL. Oh, and this is for every computer I try it on, so the problem is obviously with your file. How's about you just send it to me?
     
  12. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    How are you trying to open the tech tree? You will have to have the entire mod to be able to open it in the game.
     
  13. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    With my browser.
     
  14. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    Don't use your browser dude
     
  15. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    If anyone can't get this to work, send me a private message.
     
  16. Bahmo

    Bahmo King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    Got it! Now to start posting on the relevent forums.
     
  17. DVS

    DVS El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    Canada
    Right on.

    .
     
  18. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    I can't get this to work:

    I've got to Niknaks' step 4, input the following in the 'url repository' field:

    https://world2008mod.svn.sourceforge...t/world2008mod

    and i get the following error:

    Checkout from https://world2008mod.svn.sourceforge...t/world2008mod, revision HEAD, Fully recursive, Externals included
    OPTIONS of 'https://world2008mod.svn.sourceforge...t/world2008mod': Could not
    resolve hostname `world2008mod.svn.sourceforge...t': The requested name is
    valid, but no data of the requested type was found.
    (https://world2008mod.svn.sourceforge...t)

    operation failed.

    help?
     
  19. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    That's because you've left in the ... from the text-shortening the forum does.

    You need to copy the actual link, not the text. Alternatively, just replace the ... with ".ne", which is what's missing.
     
  20. Adhesive86

    Adhesive86 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    Ok, i've done that and got a bit further, but it's still not working. After taking 34 seconds to download 12kb i get the following message:

    'Checkout from https://world2008mod.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/world2008mod, revision HEAD, Fully recursive, Externals included
    Can't create directory 'C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization
    4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\World 2008\.svn': Access is denied.'

    I assume this is the correct directory?

    I've tried this a few times varying a few of the options after it initially didn't work. I can browse the repository OK by clicking to teh right of the URL field.

    EDIT: Sorted Following Niknaks' reply below.
     

Share This Page