The problem with this game.

Ruzz

Chieftain
is that the games take too bloody long. game is immersive as hell and probably one of the most in-depth games I've played but I want to be able to finish a game in less than 5 hours. christ, I've been playing for almost 2 months and haven't finished a single game to the end either because,

1. I would already win by domination and it would just be a waste of time for me to the fight to the end
2. tried getting a science victory, spent almost the entire morning + afternoon and got fed up of how time consuming it was

im playing on the 1 land mass map type, and only at normal with 4 players (8 CS). the heck? am I doing something wrong?

You can always go for Quick. Makes mistakes more important, though and units get outdated fast.

Otherwise, Save and continue another day, although it isn't fun for me either to come in the industrial era and just whip away at units or at the next button.

If the game were shorter by design, it's likely we would have to sacrifice some of the depth and complexity. I don't see the long games as a problem. In fact, I've started playing on Epic and Marathon because I like the longer, drawn out games.

Try to take your time with the game and your micromanagement, maybe bump up the difficulty, and you might appreciate the length of the game more.

How long in hours are people's typical games? I find myself at around 15-25 hours for a standard-sized map at standard speed at emperor level and I feel that is a bit long. Maybe I think too much :mischief:

how is it that you civ fanatics don't find it annoying to spent 20 turns dragging your army over a body of water and land to conquer another city? by the time they were over there, troops would have been outdated already. doh

how is it that you civ fanatics don't find it annoying to spent 20 turns dragging your army over a body of water and land to conquer another city? by the time they were over there, troops would have been outdated already. doh