1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

This Game Sucks!!!!!

Discussion in 'CivRev - Multiplayer' started by MKElderGod, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. gnunix

    gnunix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Oops. :) I meant Aztecs.
     
  2. gnunix

    gnunix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ok. So I've played some more games now. Last night did a head to head game with a real life friend, no lockups.

    I also played the game of the week today on King, no lockups.

    I'm just posting this stuff here so that hopefully others are not dis-swayed from picking up this game. It seems to run very stable and is a blast.

    Did you update the game via XBOX live? I'm at version 1.3, according to the home screen.
     
  3. Microplaya

    Microplaya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    This game is not stable online Gnunix. It still freezes / locks up for unknown reasons, too often as far as I am concerned. 2K just doesn't seem to do online very well. NBA 2K9 is also a mess online, as far as lobby's are concerned, at least the play there doesn't freeze.

    There are other serious flaws with it as well. There should be a "diplomacy" period per turn for starters. Meaning your are initially allowed to use your units first, before being interrupted by another Civ. You should be able to unload your boat. So annoying that you move your galley, then it scans over to the next unit, without giving you the option.
     
  4. bonafide11

    bonafide11 Worker

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Location:
    STL
    Yeah, I like the game, but it does freeze A LOT online.
     
  5. lordmacroer

    lordmacroer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    I wish there was a "quick battles option" and a "quick moves option" like there was in the previous instalments of civilization. The battles are cool for the first couple of minuets, but then they just become a pain in the neck! I dont care how the fight goes, I just want to know the outcome.
     
  6. TKG

    TKG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    there is just such an option, you simply turn off the animation, it's all under player preferences.
     
  7. Kadazzle

    Kadazzle Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,266
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    No, there isn't.
     
  8. aholen

    aholen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Playing against the computer is boring since the AI is awful. However, the online multiplayer freezes on me in about 40% of games. I called 2k games and a guy there said the freeze problem wasn't reported that often. He asked me if I had a firewall and I said no. He said he didn't know how to fix the problem. Anybody want to buy my copy of the game?
     
  9. mindseye1220

    mindseye1220 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    31


    If you hate the game, why did you sign up for a fansite?
     
  10. lordmacroer

    lordmacroer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165

    Hey im a huge fan of all of the civ games. I just wish the new ones would work on my computer.
     
  11. Sn1p3rk1ll3

    Sn1p3rk1ll3 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Turnhout, Belgium
    Mayans and Aztecs may seem like the same, but they aren't!!!!

    Mayans are peacefull, but Aztecs are brutaaaaaaaaal :p


    Back to the point :
    -first of all : the game DOES have it's good points, like every game (it's always fun to establish a world domination :p )

    -second : not all bugs can be removed from a game, and if you are so sure it can be : PROVE IT!!!

    -third : I had a few freezes online (most every time online, but that's cheating by newbies who can't win /"pro's" who want to maintain their top 10-scores) but only like 2/10 games, and for an online game that takes 0.50-4 hours, that's not bad.

    -finally : I'm pretty sure know you never played Sticky Balls.....aaaaaaaaaargh!!!!
     
  12. Hertsh

    Hertsh Darwinist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Let´s get back to talk about Civ Rev and nothing else, why keep on ranting about graphics and that the games doesn´t work on your computer? This is a console game! BTW, computers that can run Civ 4 are at a bargain price these days.
     
  13. lordmacroer

    lordmacroer Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165

    hehe well that depends on what you consider "bargain price".



    Wwere can i find a Civ Rev demo for windows 98? Ive looked all over the internet and different video game stores but they only have Civ rev for xbox and playstation or whatever they are called. I dont want to buy a fancy console just to play 1 game.
     
  14. Hertsh

    Hertsh Darwinist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    You can´t. As said earlier, this is a console game. It is present on X360, PS3, DS, and since a few days back actually also on iPhone/iPod Touch.
     

Share This Page