1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Unusual tips!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Strategy & Tips' started by S.O.T MAHak, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. beestar

    beestar subdeity

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    I noticed this as well - personally I think it's an unwelcome additional piece of micromanagement, as I monitor my workers to make sure they get the job done.

    I don't think you actually gain city production (since city output is processed on the interturn) but certainly happiness, resources, road effects, improvement triggers for Stone Works and Circus, are all triggered immediately.

    Could this be fixed by having worker actions complete on the interturn?
     
  2. ravenmagus

    ravenmagus Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    250
    Gender:
    Female
    If a worker would finish it that turn, then they'll finish it at the end of the turn anyways, and you'll get the happiness/hammers/food/etc for that turn (if a worker finishes a lux this way, your unhappiness problem will be fixed for the end of turn). The main thing finishing 'early' allows you to do is trade a lux or doublecheck your city micromanaging (also allows you to start the Stone Works/Circus too).
     
  3. beestar

    beestar subdeity

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Pacific Standard Time
    Yes, I understand that, and I agree that's how it works in Civ V.

    My argument is that, for optimum play (starting Stone Works), you should always monitor your workers and trigger the action-finishing if needed. This is an extra step of boring micro to achieve optimal play.

    Instead, if Firaxis modified the game so that it didn't work this way, Civ V would be a more fun game for us optimizers by reducing the number of annoying things to optimize. That's all I'm trying to say ...
     
  4. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,259
    Location:
    Venice, California
    If Firaxis changed this, wouldn't it make the game less fun for optimizers? Or is optimization an addiction that optimizers wish they could overcome?

    Regardless, I think the odds of Firaxis changing this are closer to 0 than to 1%.
     
  5. echolalia

    echolalia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Ireland
    The other aspect of this trick is that you can finish a road ( or part thereof) . This can get your units a couple of tiles further on than they would otherwise. Very important in battle, especially if you've trying to bring up a newly born general.
     
  6. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    This is the most important aspect of this worker behavior. I hesitate to characterize it a “trick” (but I guess maybe it qualifies as an “unusual tip”), because if your workers are on the front you are probably micro-managing them!

    No. It is better the way things are, with workers with orders commit at the end of your turn instead of between turns, because it gives the player more flexibility. If workers-with-orders committed at the beginning of a turn, the player would loose opportunity to move them away from barbarians or change orders. It is annoying though to miss a turn of luxury or resource trading. Those are also always the exact turns, it seems to me, that an AI come begging for a favor.
     
  7. Spikey1201

    Spikey1201 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI

    Is this actually true? Somehow I have never heard this.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. krc

    krc King

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    890
    I very much doubt it. Was probably just a random accident.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
     
  9. Memoryjar

    Memoryjar Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    Lille, France
    Yep, sorry for confuse. It doesn't work. After 5 try, I didn't catch a tech. But buildings and localisation have an influence on ruins.
     
  10. George Abitbol

    George Abitbol Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Wish Lorraine
    Not sure if this had been mentioned, it happened last time.

    If you have a coastal city located on a landlocked sea (inner sea or surrounded by ice), and you're planning to use privateers/caravels/destroyers/etc to capture ennemy cities, these ship have a chance to be "teleported" in this landlocked town after the capture.
    To avoid this, build a permanent ship and leave him garrisoned inside.
     
  11. Gori the Grey

    Gori the Grey The Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6,530
    Chopping forests can have an impact on the tiles that the city selects for boundary expansion.

    I'm playing a game right now where I have a lot of tundra, a lot of coast and a couple of forests. The city was selecting tundra tiles and coastal tiles (each with just a single food) over forest tiles, which seemed odd, since forest tiles at least give you one food, one production. Anyway, I chopped one of the forests to reveal a plain. Same yield as a forest, 1-1, but now the city selected it over the two coastal tiles it had been targeting the turn before.

    Not only that, but I had another forested tile, this one with silks on it, four tiles out from my city. I know that cities will grab lux tiles four tiles out even before finishing the 2 and 3 rings. It didn't select this tile until I cut the forest on it. Then it did.

    I take from this that the method for selecting tiles for expansion puts a very low priority on forests. So if you were planning to cut forests anyway for the hammers, or you don't mind doing so, you can exert a little bit of influence on the city's tile selection process.
     
  12. adwcta

    adwcta King

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    889
    Location:
    New York City, USA
    Yup, works with jungle too. But, this trick does not work for forests on hills.
     
  13. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    I just discovered that Dido/Carthage workers can build railroads on mountains. Kind of tedious, but pretty cool.
     
  14. Memoryjar

    Memoryjar Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    Lille, France
    You can also settle on a mountain.
     
  15. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    It did not occur to me try that! Road/rails through mountains definitely have utility. Is a city founded on a mountain pretty much unassailable? I have seen maps where being able to settle on a mountain would made otherwise unworkable natural wonders available.
     
  16. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    It is definitely a good tip to be wary of this effect. I think the teleporting only happens if you liberate or raze the city. (And the later gives you at least one turn to avoid the effect.)

    I am not sure about this advise, as my landlocked coastal cities tend to be either puppets or weak producers! I don’t often feel like I have the spare production for ship I will never use. It seems like the proposed solution is almost as wasteful as the problem you are trying to avoid. I especially hate it when Great Admirals spawn in landlocked ports.

    If you are going to liberate with a melee ship, and you are at risk for this teleport effect, I think the better advise is to liberate with a “green” ship and not one with lots of promotions.
     
  17. BlackWizard

    BlackWizard King

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    You can chance port of Great Admiral any coastal city you have or doesnt it work with landlocked cities?
     
  18. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    GA will only spawn in a coastal city. But as George points out, that coastal city can be be located on a landlocked sea (inner sea or surrounded by ice), which is what I meant by “landlocked port”.
     
  19. Teproc

    Teproc King

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    In BNW, you have the ability to move them from one coastal city to another, so that wouldn't be a problem. I thought that was in a patch and thus affected G&K as well, but I guess not.
     
  20. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,812
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Interesting! Yes, I am still on G&K, and BlackWizard wrote chance, so I misunderstood his reply.

    Is the change port always in the GA action menu (and disabled when not in port)? Or does it only display when in port? I had not been looking for it, but if it showed up in a patch, I think I would have noticed!
     

Share This Page