1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

veBear's maps

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Pre-made Maps' started by veBear, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    :cry: No! Please do it!!! :cry:
    EDIT: I don't want to be off-topic, but (we are speaking about my mod) so I feel good to post this here:
    A promotional image about Napoleon Total War Mod!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dacubz145

    dacubz145 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,730
    Location:
    Windy City
    Theres a map of (somewhat) that area its called canaan, also theres a map of cyprus and of the middle east, im sure you can find those and are aware of that but if you, vebear, do plan on making it, expanding canaan is probably ur best option.
     
  3. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    I went through the whole database to find such a map. :crazyeye: I couldn't find the one which can fit. And I think the Canaan map is too large for me. It would have no use.
    Anyway, don't create the map when you don't want. It would be awesome for both of us if you would, but please don't. I can create my little crappy mappy too.;)
     
  4. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    Firstly. I've had this map of the Eurasian Steppe for like three months now but haven't bothered uploading it yet, but that will come shortly.

    Secondly... just some promotion ;)
     
  5. Liambane

    Liambane Rome's Praetorian

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    West Roman Empire, Italy.
    You did very good maps dude... Maybe some of them can be used for a "Europe 20 civs mod" or something :D :D :D
     
  6. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks :)
    Yeah, you go and make one, I would love to play it.

    Perfect christmas present for the community, don't you agree? A European version of you Earth 35 civs mod. I could help you with a Norwegian civ.
     
  7. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway


    New project in the making. The idea about this one is to create a map where navies will be essential... and here you go, a map of the Norwegian Coast that will soon (enough) be finished :)

    ... also gotta get out of this lazyness and upload a map I finished ages ago
     
  8. vktj

    vktj Warlord

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    212
    Legends of Ancient Arabia has a large 90x80 map which covers the area you want as well as all of the Arabian Peninsula (not to mention Persia and Turkey).

    - Sam
     
  9. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    ^He did not really want those extra parts though.
     
  10. vktj

    vktj Warlord

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    212
  11. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    That's the most sh*tty map-maker program I've ever seen, no offense. You can't really create good maps using it. I myself use Rhye's BMP to WBS converter (which I would reccomend Nitram in this case, but then again that post was made in August last year, so I doubt he have any use for it ATM) to create a good outline of Height and Terrain and then does the nitpick and details in World Builder. More time-consuming, but better maps.
     
  12. vktj

    vktj Warlord

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    212
    I agree it's a limited program but I can't think of a really good GUI Civ4 map editor.

    When I had to crop a map, it ended up taking me a couple of hours writing some scripts and editing the World Builder Save file by hand. The editor I indirectly linked to, however, did help me decide where to crop the map.

    One "quick and dirty" way to crop a map is to just replace all the unwanted squares with mountain peaks.
     
  13. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    NEW MAP!

    Norway (Large)
    - 1 Continent + Many Islands (Many small ones + Some of notable size in Lofoten)
    - Many predefined resources with accurate starting point, but much more plentyful
    - Randomized starting locations (For unique gameplay every time)
    - Large size (9 Civs default)

    Recommendes settings
    - Aggressive AI
    - Raging Barbarians
    - Only Conquest and/or Domination victory allowed
    - About 11 to 15 civs
    This will end in the ultimate war game, where huge navies will be extreamly strategically important, functioning as bridges over Fjords that would have taken many many turns to cross otherwise. Rich in resources, this map often ends in a fast-paced battle map. Try it!
     
  14. Weilyn

    Weilyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Slartibartfast would be proud :D
    Great work!
     
  15. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks, always good with a Hitchikers guide to the galaxy reference :)
     
  16. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    New map... or, well, actually a really old one, just never got to release it (It's about a year and a half by now since I made it)

    Eurasian Steppe:
    Spoiler :
    Eurasian Steppe (Huge)
    - 1 Continent + 1 Island (Cyprus)
    - Predefined, somewhat accurate Resources (For realistic gameplay)
    - Randomized starting locations (For unique gameplay every time)
    - Huge size (11 Civs default)

    Eurasian Steppe (Huge) Randomized
    - 1 Continent + 1 Island (Cyprus)
    - Randomized Resources (For unique gameplay every time)
    - Randomized starting locations (For unique gameplay every time)
    - Huge size (11 Civs default)

     
  17. Keinpferd

    Keinpferd King

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    Berlin
    Interesting map section, veBear. And nice looking, as always:thumbsup:.
     
  18. Lohrenswald

    Lohrenswald 老任森林

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,112
    Location:
    The end
    I tried to download a map (the one of Norway) and I can't get it to run. I don't understand what kind of file it is. Help?
     
  19. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    Did you put it in your PublicMaps folder? It should be in My Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword/PublicMaps :)
     

Share This Page