Waiting for CivBE, should I give AC a spin?

WiseGreen

Warlord
As the title says. I started playing with CivIII, played CIV a lot (still do on occasion, but 1UPT > doomstack IMHO) and I'm still playing a couple CiV games a week. Which of these SMAC is closest to? If I like Civ5 the best and Civ3 the least, how likely am I to enjoy it?

I started AC a couple of days ago in anticipation to CivBE and it is glorious. A more refined and sophisticated version of Civ 2.

As the title says. I started playing with CivIII, played CIV a lot (still do on occasion, but 1UPT > doomstack IMHO) and I'm still playing a couple CiV games a week. Which of these SMAC is closest to? If I like Civ5 the best and Civ3 the least, how likely am I to enjoy it?

Based upon you liking 5 the most and 3 the least, I wouldn’t bother. It is a great game, and one of my personal favourites in the whole genre. But in the terms you have stipulated I don’t think you would enjoy it. It might be a passing curiosity, but no more. If I were you, to entertain the passing curiosity, then I would pick it up on GOG sale for £3 or less rather than the full price version. But I don’t think you will get much from it as it is. Its more for old fruit cakes like myself who like a bit of nostalgia.

I personally got both Pandora Eclipse of Nashara and SMACX waiting for this game. I just might actually know what I'm doing. :D

Yep SMAC is way closer to Civ 3 than 5, and although it's still a great game you'll probably get fed up with the dodgy interface and city spam. Worth playing at least once if even just for the story/tech tree or to marvel at how advanced it was for 1999.

I already have SMAC from a past GOG sale, but I didn't even install it :p

From what I remember from playing Civ3, city spamming didn't bother me much (yay corruption!), it was the INTENSE microing because of no-turn-overflow that bothered me the most :p