What are the Best Units for Defending Cities in Each Age?

BenDover

Chieftain
When conquering tactical cities throughout the game, it's important to not lose them again to the enemy. Sometimes we can go back and forth conquering the same cities turning it into a stalemate until one or the other builds better units. I'm still learning how to adapt to the environment and what the enemy is throwing at me.

Clearly archers help out a ton early game, and replacing them with longbowman help out, but what about further down the tech tree? What should I replace (archers, for example) with when a reach a certain age?
What should I use to defend myself from siege units?

Best defense is to attack, especially against siege units. When you go to war, bring enough units to finish your opponent quickly. The AI usually has one stack of doom, which you should wipe out as early as possible. Plan your attack so you can do it under favorable conditions. If you have a lot of CR siege, you might want to attack it while it's in a city. If you are doing mounted warfare, you probably want to take it out in the open field. Under no circumstances do you want to let it attack you. When the stack is wiped out, you will mostly face random scattered units, which your own stack should easily be able to handle while conquering the rest of the enemy.

After taking a city, I usually only leave behind those who need healing, together with a GG Medic III. The rest move on toward the next city. When the troops behind are healed, I hopefully have gotten one defensive unit there from somewhere, which then stays as the only defense needed while the rest of my army moves on.

But to answer your question, typical city defenders are:

Warrior -> Archer -> Longbow -> Rifle -> Infantry -> Mech inf.

Depending on what opposition you are facing, you might want to throw in other more specialized units. You might also want to skip archers altogether and replace them with axes.