1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What to do with 2nd Great Prophet?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Aoxomoxoa, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. Aramid

    Aramid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I think its a good move of the AI to target your holy city instead of spreading its religion to other city states. It happens to me a lot. If the AI converts your holy city to their religion, they are actually effectively spreading their own religion to nearby cities or city states. When they do that, your religion will be inactive for a few turns that gives the enemy's religion the right time he needs to spread his religion to your empire and nearby city states.

    It could be an annoying deed of the enemy AI but it is very effective to beat your religion in converting the rest of the world.

    I also noticed that Ethiopia is the most challenging religious competitor since he gains faith very early. He founds religion fastest than any empire. Once he establishes his religion and enhanced it, you might find yourself in a very difficult situation to repel his religious conversion of your empire.

    By the way, he likes to found Christianity.
     
  2. ggmoyang

    ggmoyang King

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    993
    Location:
    Rep. of Korea
    If you got 2nd prophet really fast, (when other religions are some so spread) go spread your religion to other civs. Then it automatically spreads, giving you nice founder bonus later.

    If you where not so fast, enhance to which way you want.
     
  3. Cytokinesis

    Cytokinesis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Using the second prophet to spread religion when you have the 100 gold per initial conversion belief doesn't seem bad. I don't know if it would be better than enhancing though, because enhancing is really good. Maybe if you REALLY wanted that gold for a settler or something?
     
  4. shaglio

    shaglio The Prince of Dorkness

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    3,431
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lawrence, MA, USA
    You need to be adjacent to the actual city tile (in the 6 tile 1st ring).
     
  5. zomg

    zomg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    What I am more curious about is what to do with the 4th,5th,6th... great prophet. I dont need to spread my religion much and thats all they seem to do except create holy sites to give me even more faith I dont need.
     
  6. Calouste

    Calouste Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,725
    Don't get them. Save your faith to buy other Great Persons that you can get if you open one of the last 5 Social Policy trees.
     
  7. zomg

    zomg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Cool, I remember reading that now, didnt see the option to do so but wasnt looking. :king:
     
  8. IgnatiusTBarfat

    IgnatiusTBarfat Puppet Master

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Just out of reach
    Thanks for this.
     
  9. Vidszhite

    Vidszhite Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Gender:
    Male
    You have to be next to the city tile itself, not the borders. Prophets and Missionaries can enter rival tiles even without open borders.
     
  10. bhavv

    bhavv Glorious World Dictator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,358
    How do you enhance your religion? I got my second prophet fast with Maya's UA, but all it can do is spread religion?
     
  11. Harv72b

    Harv72b Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    552
    It has to be within one hex of a city is already majority your religion. Aside from that, if you didn't see the enhance button then you ran into some kind of weird glitch.
     
  12. bhavv

    bhavv Glorious World Dictator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,358
    It was glitched, it worked after a reload.
     

Share This Page